二次离子质谱测量深度剖面

应用笔记

引言

二次离子质谱(SIMS) 是用于深入分析薄膜的强大分析工具。 SIMS与其他表面分析技术的不同之处在于其极高的灵敏度(大多数元素的ppb水平)。 然而,迄今为止,这是有代价的。 在开始分析之前,您需要了解样品结构中存在哪些掺杂剂或杂质。 之所以出现这种情况,是因为使用“传统” SIMS深度剖析工具获取深度剖析数据的性质,在该表面上,当用主离子束溅射表面时,将依次监视所选元素。 基于磁性扇区的质谱仪和基于四极子的质谱仪就是这种情况。 在监视所选元素的同时,其他所有元素都不会被检测到。 因此,分析人员有责任全面了解感兴趣的可能元素,以便可以在分析中对其进行监视。 但是,很多时候这是不可能的。 研究人员将向SIIMS分析师提供一个样本,并说:“我的材料无效。 为什么? 这里面是什么?” 而不给分析人员任何可疑元素进行分析。 通常,经验丰富的分析师可以依靠他或她积累的知识来选择可能导致材料失效的元素,但这不能保证他或她选择正确。 导致故障的元素可能不会被检测到。

原则

基于飞行时间的SIMS工具可以在开始分析之前了解样本中的内容。 在飞行时间仪器中,用脉冲的极低初级离子通量探测表面以产生二次离子信号。 在数据采集期间,表面实际上是“未溅射的”。 对于每个初级离子脉冲,获取完整的质谱,检测样品中存在的所有元素。 一旦在这种几乎非溅射模式中累积了足够的信号,则使用另一个离子束来溅射材料以暴露由初级离子脉冲探测的新深度。 这种获取深度剖面的方法称为“测量深度剖面”,因为它提供了每个深度间隔的样本的完整调查分析。 在分析之前,人们不必知道样本中的内容,因为每个深度间隔都会检测到每个元素。 此外,在分析多层样品时,材料的溅射去除与二次离子产生的去耦导致了很大的优点,其中界面处的杂质可能是特别重要的。 检测界面处存在的所有元素,并且可以在界面处停止表面的溅射去除并且累积更多数据以获得更好的检测限。 使用“传统”SIMS深度剖析工具,其中溅射通过界面连续,当在界面处检测到一种杂质时,可能会错过另一种感兴趣的元素,因为当质谱仪调谐到它时,溅射可能已经通过该元件可能已经存在的界面。 以这种方式,可以报告假阴性结果。 这在Survey-SIMS深度剖面中不会发生。

示例

图1和2显示SiO的薄膜层结构的Survey-SIMS深度分布2/结晶硅衬底上的多晶硅。数据在两个单独的分析中获得; 电负性物种之一(图1); 和一种正电性物种(图2)。 为了达到最佳检测限,必须分别测量这两个元素组。

在图1中,氧分布(相对于右y轴以强度绘制)显示SiO的存在2 结构顶部的图层。 然而,另外,氧分布显示出在多晶硅/结晶硅界面和多晶硅层中间的氧化物污染。 这表明了多晶硅的两步沉积工艺。 砷分布图(相对于左侧y轴以原子/ cc绘制)表明,这种原位As掺杂也积累在相同的两个界面以及SiO上2/ poly-Si接口。 还有证据表明,一些As已经从重掺杂的多晶硅层扩散到下面的Si衬底中。

还检测到所有这三种界面的氟和碳。 图的标题。 1列出了在这种材料系统中常见的电负性元素的检测限。

Survey-SIMS在结晶Si衬底上的SiO2 /多晶Si的薄膜层结构中的负电元件的深度分布。

图1 在SiO的薄膜层结构中的电负性元素的Survey-SIMS深度分布图2/结晶Si衬底上的多晶硅。

通过Survey-SIMS深度剖析检测电负性元素的限值。

表1 通过Survey-SIMS深度剖析检测电负性元素的限值。

图2示出了在相同结构上获得的电正性元件的轮廓。 在图1中检测到F的相同界面处检测到锂,Na,K和Al污染物。碱元素污染可能会对设备性能造成特别不利的影响,如果这些可移动物质进入CV,则会导致设备的CV漂移。活动设备层。 这些界面处存在的Al可能表示来自工艺流程中这些点处沉积的Al金属化层的污染。 碱污染可能来自加工过程中这些点上用来图案化器件的抗蚀剂。

Survey-SIMS在结晶Si衬底上的SiO2 /多晶Si薄膜层结构中的正电性元件的深度剖面图。

图2 Survey-SIMS在结晶Si衬底上的SiO2 /多晶Si薄膜层结构中的正电性元件的深度剖面图。

通过Survey-SIMS深度剖析检测正电性元件的极限

表2 通过Survey-SIMS深度剖析检测正电性元件的极限。

在结构中也检测到硼。 多晶硅中的B能级很重要,因为尽管其浓度低于As,但B仍会反掺杂相反掺杂类型的As,从而减少了As的净n型掺杂。 硼扩散到Si衬底中也会影响在同时存在As和B的多晶硅下衬底中的净电掺杂。

不存在所有其他定量的正电元素。 它们的检出限在图中的标题中列出。

概要

Survey-SIMS深度分布图提供了一种分析材料中掺杂剂和杂质的方法,而无需事先了解它们在被评估结构中的存在。 通过同时分析负电和正电元素(分别进行两次分析),可以以优异的深度分辨率和高灵敏度检测元素周期表中的所有元素。 一旦确定了感兴趣的元素,不妨使用“传统”磁扇区或四极SIMS深度剖析工具对这些元素进行剖析,以获得更好的检测极限,尤其是对于大气污染物。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry Survey Depth Profile

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

Secondary ion mass spectrometry (SIMS) is a powerful analytical tool for in-depth analysis of thin films. What sets SIMS apart from other surface-analysis techniques is its extremely high sensitivity (ppb levels for most elements). However, heretofore, this has come at a price.  You needed to know what dopants or impurities were in the sample structure before the analysis could be started. This came about because of the nature of acquiring depth profiling data with a “traditional” SIMS depth-profiling tool where the chosen elements are monitored sequentially as the surface is sputtered with the primary ion beam. This is the case with magnetic sector-based and quadrupole-based mass spectrometers. While the chosen elements are monitored, all other elements go undetected. It is thus incumbent of the analyst to have a thorough knowledge the possible elements of interest so that they can be monitored in the analysis. However, many times this is not possible. An investigator will present a sample to the SIIMS analyst saying: “My material doesn’t work. Why? What’s in it?” without giving the analyst any suspect elements for which to analyze. Often an experienced analyst can rely on his or her accumulated knowledge to choose elements which might be responsible for the material’s failure, but this is no guarantee that he or she has chosen correctly. The elements that are responsible for the failure may go undetected.

PRINCIPLES

A time-of-flight based SIMS tool gets around this need to know what is in a sample before beginning the analysis. In a time-of-flight instrument, the surface is probed with a pulsed, extremely low primary ion flux to generate the secondary ion signal. The surface is virtually “un-sputtered” during data acquisition. For each pulse of primary ions, a complete mass spectrum is acquired detecting all the elements present in the sample. Once sufficient signals are accumulated in this virtually non-sputtering mode, another ion beam is used to sputter away material to expose a new depth to be probed by the pulses of primary ions. This method of acquiring a depth profile is called a “Survey Depth Profile” because it provides a complete survey analysis of the sample at every depth interval. One does not have to know what is in the sample before analyzing it because every element is detected at every depth interval. In addition, the decoupling of the sputter-removal of material from the secondary ion generation leads to great advantages when analyzing multi-layered samples where impurities at interfaces might be particularly important. All the elements present at the interface are detected, and sputter-removal of the surface can be halted at the interface and more data accumulated to obtain better a better detection limit. With “traditional” SIMS depth-profiling tools where sputtering is continuous through an interface, when detecting one impurity at an interface, another element-of-interest that is present might be missed because by the time the mass spectrometer is tuned to it, the sputtering may have passed through the interface where that element might have been. In that way, a false negative result may be reported. This cannot happen in a Survey-SIMS depth profile.

EXAMPLES

Figures 1 and 2 show Survey-SIMS depth profiles of a thin film layer structure of SiO2/poly-crystalline Si on a crystalline Si substrate.The data were acquired in two separate analyses; one of electronegative species (fig. 1); and one of electropositive species (Fig. 2). For achieving optimum detection limits, these two element-groups must be measured separately.

In figure 1, the oxygen profile (plotted in intensity with respect to the right y-axis) shows the presence of the SiO2 layer on the top of the structure. However, additionally, the oxygen profile shows oxide contamination at the poly-Si/crystalline-Si interface and in the middle of the poly-Si layer. This is indicative of a two-step deposition process for the poly-Si. The arsenic profile (plotted in atoms/cc with respect to the left y-axis) shows that this in-situ As doping also accumulated at the same two interfaces as well as at the SiO2/poly-Si interface. There is also evidence that some of the As has diffused out of the heavily-doped poly-Si layer into the underlying Si substrate.

Fluorine and carbon are also detected that all three of these interfaces. The caption for fig. 1 lists the detection limits for the electro negative elements that are commonly found in this kind of material system.

Survey-SIMS depth profiles of electronegative elements in a thin film layer structure of SiO2/poly-crystalline Si on a crystalline Si substrate.
Figure 1 Survey-SIMS depth profiles of electronegative elements in a thin film layer structure of SiO2/poly-crystalline Si on a crystalline Si substrate.

Detection limits for electronegative elements by Survey-SIMS depth profiling.
Table 1 Detection limits for electronegative elements by Survey-SIMS depth profiling.

Figures 2 shows profiles for electropositive elements acquired on the same structure. Lithium, Na, K and Al contaminants are detected at the same interfaces where F was detected in Fig. 1. Alkali-element contamination can be particularly deleterious to device performance, leading to C-V shifts in devices if these mobile species find their way into the active device layers. The Al present at these interfaces could be indicative of contamination from Al metallization layers deposited at these points in the process flow. The alkali contamination could be come from the resist used to pattern the device at these points in the processing.

Survey-SIMS depth profiles of electropositive elements in a thin film layer structure of SiO2/poly-crystalline Si on a crystalline Si substrate.
Figure 2 Survey-SIMS depth profiles of electropositive elements in a thin film layer structure of SiO2/poly-crystalline Si on a crystalline Si substrate.

Detection limits for electropositive elements by Survey-SIMS depth profiling
Table 2 Detection limits for electropositive elements by Survey-SIMS depth profiling.

Boron is also detected in the structure. The B level in the poly-Si is important because, while lower in concentration than the As, the B will nevertheless counter-dope the As which is the opposite dopant type, thus reducing the net n-type doping of the As. The boron diffusion into the Si substrate will also affect the net electrical doping in the substrate under the poly-Si where both As and B are present.

All other electropositive elements that were quantified were not present. Their detection limits are listed in the captions for the figures.

SUMMARY

Survey-SIMS Depth Profiles provide a way to analyze for dopants and impurities in a material without having prior knowledge of their presence in the structure being evaluated. By analyzing for both electronegative and electropositive elements (in two, separate analyses), one can detect all elements in the periodic table with excellent depth resolution and high sensitivity. Once the elements of interest are identified, one may wish to profile these with a “traditional” magnetic sector or quadrupole SIMS depth-profiling tool to obtain even better detection limits, especially for atmospheric contaminants.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.