不锈钢腐蚀:采用俄歇电子能谱(AES)分析的医疗器械应用

应用笔记

背景

不锈钢广泛用于 生物医药行业 包括导管,支架,螺钉,管道,导丝,牙科产品,整形外科和各种医疗器械。 不锈钢通常是选择的金属,因为它具有耐腐蚀性。 然而,根据诸如不锈钢的等级,钝化层的质量等因素,仍然可能发生腐蚀 污染物存在 表面和不锈钢暴露的环境。

图1 SEM

图1 SEM

俄歇电子能谱(AES) 可以有效地确定用于防止腐蚀的钝化层的质量。 此外,如果确实发生腐蚀,俄歇分析可以帮助确定其原因。 俄歇分析能够检测非常局部的腐蚀和潜在原因,如以下案例研究所示。

用于镍生物相容性的支架的俄歇分析

图2 俄歇光谱

表1 AES原子浓度(原子%)

表1 AES原子浓度(原子%)

结果与讨论

图1显示了高放大倍率 二次电子图像 (100,000x放大倍数)从俄歇仪器上获得 收到的表面 一块300系列不锈钢板。 显微照片显示出一系列极小的缺陷,其中大部分缺陷直径仅约为25nm。 该SEM图像用于定义要在其上进行俄歇电子能谱的点。 分析一个大颗粒和一个小颗粒(分别为1和2点)以及缺陷的对照区域(点3)。 所有三个测量光谱都显示,暴露在空气中的不锈钢表面存在预期的C,O,Cr,Fe和Ni。 此外,来自点1(较大缺陷)的光谱显示存在大量的Ca以及较小的Na峰。 来自小缺陷(点2)的俄歇光谱显示存在S和Na污染物,但也显示出与来自对照区域的光谱(点3)大不相同的Fe与Cr峰值比率。 表1中显示了从这三个点检测到的元素的定量。 获得了几种感兴趣元素的俄歇地图,包括Ca,Cr和Fe。 Ca的图显示了1mm内Ca的横向分布2 视野。

图3 Cr AES图

图3 Cr AES地图

图4 Fe AES图

图4 Fe AES地图

图5 Ca AES图

图5 Ca AES地图

概要

虽然在SEM图像中观察到许多粒子缺陷,但是只有少数粒子缺陷具有显着的Ca,如Ca Auger图所示。 与背景区域(点3)相比,大多数较小的颗粒对应于较大浓度的Fe。 这表明在这些25nm尺寸的缺陷内发生了局部腐蚀,其明显的潜在原因是存在Na。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Stainless Steel Corrosion: Medical Device Applications with Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) Analysis

APPLICATION NOTE

BACKGROUND

Stainless steel is used extensively in the biomedical industry including catheters, stents, screws, tubing, guidewires, dental products, orthopedics and a wide variety of medical instruments. Stainless steel is often the metal of choice because of its resistance to corrosion. However, corrosion can still occur depending on factors such as the grade of stainless, the quality of the passivation layer, the contaminants present on the surface, and the environment the stainless is exposed to.

Figure 1 SEM
Figure 1 SEM

Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) can be effective in determining the quality of passivation layers used to prevent corrosion. In addition, if corrosion does occur, Auger analysis can be instrumental in determining its cause. Auger analysis is capable of detecting very localized corrosion and potential causes, as shown in the following case study.

Auger analysis of stent for nickel biocompatibility
Figure 2 Auger Spectra

Table 1 AES Atomic Concentrations (atom%)
Table 1 AES Atomic Concentrations (atom%)

RESULTS & DISCUSSION

Figure 1 shows a high magnification secondary electron image (100,000x magnification) obtained from an Auger instrument on the as-received surface of a piece of 300 series stainless steel sheet. The micrograph shows a series of extremely small defects, most of which being only about 25nm in diameter. This SEM image was used to define points on which Auger electron spectroscopy was to be performed. One large and one small particle (points 1 and 2, respectively) were analyzed along with a control region (point 3) off of the defects. All three of the survey spectra show the presence of the expected C, O, Cr, Fe and Ni from the air-exposed stainless steel surface. In addition, the spectrum from point 1 (larger defect) shows the presence of a large amount of Ca along with a smaller Na peak. The Auger spectrum from the small defect (point 2) shows the presence of S and Na contaminants but also shows much different Fe to Cr peak ratios than the spectrum from the control area (point 3). Quantification of the elements detected from these three points is shown in Table 1. Auger maps were acquired for several of the elements of interest including Ca, Cr, and Fe. The map for Ca reveals a lateral distribution of Ca within a 1mm2 field of view.

Figure 3 Cr AES Map
Figure 3 Cr AES Map

Figure 4 Fe AES Map
Figure 4 Fe AES Map

Figure 5 Ca AES Map
Figure 5 Ca AES Map

SUMMARY

Although scores of particle defects were observed in the SEM image, only a few of them appear to have significant Ca, as shown in the Ca Auger map. Most of the smaller particles correspond to larger concentrations of Fe, compared to the background area (Point 3). This indicates that localized corrosion has occurred within these 25nm-sized defects with an obvious potential cause being the presence of Na.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.