为什么牙刷刷毛会随着时间而变硬?

应用笔记

作者:Adrienne Hoeglund博士和Heather Siebert博士。

引言

长时间使用后,与未使用的牙刷相比,牙刷刷毛可能会开始变硬,变硬和变硬。 为了调查原因,使用各种分析技术对不同使用条件下的牙刷进行了分析,以比较刷毛的化学成分,检查其外观并鉴定残留的沉积物。

样品

选择了两种不同的牙刷使用条件:(1)连续7天每天使用两次的牙刷(约14次使用)和(2)在六个月的过程中间歇使用牙刷(约24次使用)。 比较中包括新的未使用的牙刷作为对照。 还分析了牙膏作为参考材料,因为使用后很有可能残留在刷头上。 样品指定如下。

样品编号 样品说明
S1 新的未使用的牙刷(控制)
S2 牙刷每周使用6个月(约24次使用)
S3 牙膏(在牙刷期间使用的相同品牌)
S4 牙刷使用了7天(约14次使用)

 

傅里叶变换红外光谱(FTIR)

FTIR用于使用衰减全反射(ATR)采样技术确定每个相应牙刷的刷毛化学家族。 ATR的优势在于操作简单,能够以最少的样品制备量以自然状态分析样品。 FTIR光谱学能够根据结合的原子在吸收红外光时振动的频率来获得组成材料的化学官能团类型的信息。 FTIR既可以确认构成牙刷刷毛的合成聚合物的身份,也可以检测百分比含量的污染物,例如牙膏残留。 还收集了牙膏的光谱指纹作为参考材料,以帮助解释数据。

通过使用商业图书馆的计算机辅助搜索算法,可以确定牙刷刷毛由尼龙6/12材料组成,如在 图1。 将不同牙刷的刷毛相互比较,FTIR光谱看起来相似,但峰值集中在3296 cm-1 加宽了较长时间使用的牙刷样本。 此外,在1082厘米附近有一个山峰-1 可以看到,在使用过的刚毛中出现并在长时间使用后强度增加。 图2。 将在使用过的牙刷中观察到的这些光谱特征与牙膏参考光谱进行比较,可以确认使用过的牙刷中含有牙膏残留物。 这表明,即使在用自来水冲洗后,牙刷刷毛中仍残留一些牙膏,并且长期使用会增加刷毛中牙膏的量。

为了进一步了解可以从FTIR数据中得出哪些特定信息,从牙膏中获取了成分列表,并从商业库中选择了相应的参考光谱进行比较。 在列出的成分中,交叉引用了选定成分(如焦磷酸二钠,水合二氧化硅和二氧化钛)的FTIR光谱,以确定哪种牙膏成分造成了大约1082℃的强烈峰。 XNUMX厘米-1。 光谱的叠加图 图2 提示使用后保留在刷毛上的主要成分来自水合二氧化硅,该水合二氧化硅被配制成牙膏以用作精细的凝胶磨料,有助于去除牙菌斑。

数字 1.  新牙刷的FTIR(S1)(顶部红色),使用7天的牙刷(S4)(中,蓝色),使用2个月的牙刷(S6)(中绿色)和尼龙12/XNUMX图书馆比赛(底部,紫色)

数字 2。 新牙刷的FTIR(S1)(红色),使用7天的牙刷(S4)(蓝色),使用2个月的牙刷(SXNUMX)(绿色),牙膏(紫色),水合二氧化硅(黄色),二氧化钛(绿色)和焦磷酸盐二钠(深蓝色)

扫描电子显微镜(SEM)

扫描电子显微镜(SEM)可用作可视化和比较各种材料中的微观结构的工具。 在SEM中,聚焦的电子束扫描样品的表面,并根据电子与构成材料的单个原子的相互作用产生响应。 根据要监视的电子相互作用的类型,相应的图像传达有关样品的形貌和组成的信息。 在此应用中,牙刷刷毛(尼龙)和牙膏残留物均为非导电材料。 因此,为了获得良好分辨率的图像,硬毛被溅射涂有一层薄薄的金属(金)以使表面导电。

SEM分析显示,与预期的一样,新型控制牙刷刷毛(S1)光滑且没有明显的颗粒物(图3)。 完整牙刷头的较低放大倍数SEM图像显示刷毛分离且能够自由移动。 为期7天的中间用途牙刷(S4)开始显示出鬃毛表面的磨损,并且在较低的放大倍率图像中,一些单独的鬃毛开始相互粘附(图4)。 使用六个月后,最旧的牙刷刷毛(S2)会显示出大量的磨损和颗粒物(图5)。 完整牙刷头的图像显示出几组刷毛粘在一起或“粘”在一起并包装成列。 提供了所有三种牙刷的比较 图6.

图3.在低放大倍率(上),高放大倍率(中)和大容量牙刷内(下)的新牙刷刷毛的SEM分析

图4.使用7天的牙刷的SEM分析(S4)。 前两个图像以不同的放大倍数显示单个的刷毛。 底部的两个图像以不同的放大倍数显示了散装牙刷中的刷毛。

图5.六个月使用的牙刷的SEM分析(S2),顶部(单个鬃毛,在较高放大倍数下镶嵌有磨损和微粒物质),中间(单个鬃毛显示微粒物质),底部两个图像(牙刷上的鬃毛放大倍数)

图6.新型牙刷刷毛的SEM分析(图1),散装牙刷的新牙刷刷毛(图2),7天大的牙刷刷毛(图3),散装牙刷的7天大牙刷刷毛(图4),6一个月大的牙刷刷毛(图5)和六个月大的牙刷刷毛(散装牙刷)(图6)

热重分析(TGA)

在热重量分析(TGA)中,加热样品,并在材料经历热事件时测量相应的重量变化。 样品中无机材料的量可以估算为样品热分解后残留的灰分的重量百分比。

通过TGA在室温至900℃下分析新的和使用过的牙刷毛。 加热后,数据表明用过的牙刷刷毛中含有大量的残留无机材料。 此数据与FTIR光谱和SEM图像一致,这表明在刷毛内部和周围存在牙膏形式的无机材料。 新牙刷(S1),7天大牙刷(S4),2个月大牙刷(SXNUMX)和牙膏样品的TGA曲线差异可见 图7。 使用六个月后的牙刷(S2 = 9.45%残留,栗色痕迹)比使用7天后的牙刷(S4 = 0.78%残留物,绿色痕迹)和新牙刷(S1 = 0.63%残留物)中的残留量要多得多。 ,粉红色的痕迹)。 由于TGA仅提供残留物的重量信息而不提供成分信息,因此对TGA灰分进行了另一种分析技术-能量色散X射线光谱(EDS),以确定其元素分布。

数字 7。 TGA热分析图的叠加

TGA灰的能量色散X射线光谱(EDS)

为了深入了解在TGA实验之后残留的残留物的化学组成,使用扫描电子显微镜内部的能量色散X射线检测器在灰烬上收集了元素分布图。 当高能电子束扫描样品时,这会在原子内引发一系列步骤,最终导致发射X射线。 X射线的能量是其起源的特定元素的特征。 通过检测和测量所发射的X射线,我们能够确定灰分的元素分布。

检查数据后,确定TGA灰分样品的EDS(图8图10) 和牙膏样品(图11)包含大部分相同的元素。 S1刚毛中的灰分EDS(图8)表明,新型控制牙刷中也存在硅(Si)和钛(Ti),这可能是由于尼龙刷毛中配制了颜料所致。 这使分析变得复杂,因为巧合的是,在牙膏本身中还存在水合二氧化硅和二氧化钛,这些成分可用作牙膏存在时的“标记化合物”。

但是,重要的是要从TGA数据中注意到,新牙刷本身残留的灰分极少(0.63%),但在牙膏中却显着(26%)。 因此,少于1%的残留物将归因于刷毛材料本身。 由于使用六个月的牙刷(S2)的TGA残留量超过9%,并且最强烈的峰是硅(Si),因此结合其他数据可以理解,多余的含硅材料是由于水合刷牙上残留的牙膏残留二氧化硅。 钠(Na),磷(P)和硫(S)的存在也与牙膏中的其他成分一致。 使用7天(S4)的牙刷仅含有0.78%的灰分。 这仅略超过新的控制牙刷(S1)。 因此,TGA和EDS数据表明,中间使用牙刷(S4)的刷毛不应该那么坚硬,因为没有太多残留的牙膏覆盖在刷毛上。

数字 8。 S1新牙刷的TGA灰的EDS(剩余0.63%的灰烬)

数字 9。 S4 7天龄牙刷的TGA灰分的EDS(残留0.78%灰烬)

数字 10。 S2六个月大的牙刷的TGA灰分的EDS(残留了9.45%的灰烬)

数字 11。 S3牙膏TGA灰的EDS(剩余26%的灰烬)

结论

我们采用了多种技术来研究我们许多人遇到的常见现象-为什么牙刷的硬毛会随着时间的推移而变硬。 FTIR和EDS表明,随着使用时间的延长,牙膏残留物会累积。 电子显微镜图像显示,在较长的使用期限内,残留的牙膏会导致刷毛受到机械损坏并越来越“粘在一起”。 来自TGA的数据显示,与仅使用6天的牙刷相比,在使用7个月的过程中,在刷毛上积聚的牙膏残留量明显增加。

随着时间的流逝,有几种情况会导致硬毛变硬。 在存在牙膏涂层的情况下,刷牙产生的机械作用会导致尼龙刷毛开始磨损并破裂。 随着时间的流逝,这可能导致刷毛彼此粘附,并使刷牙结束时用自来水冲洗牙刷的行为变得不那么有效。 这些因素最终导致刷毛变硬,变硬,并且对使用者的效果不佳,并且通常表明是时候购买新牙刷了!

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Why Do Toothbrush Bristles Harden Over Time?

APPLICATION NOTE

By Adrienne Hoeglund, Ph.D., and Heather Siebert, Ph.D.

INTRODUCTION

With prolonged use, toothbrush bristles may begin to feel hard, stiff and rigid when compared to an unused toothbrush. To investigate why, toothbrushes under different use conditions were analyzed using a variety of analytical techniques to compare the bristles’ chemical composition, examine their visual appearance, and characterize residual deposits.

SAMPLES

Two different toothbrush use conditions were selected:  (1) a toothbrush used twice a day for 7 consecutive days (approximately 14 uses) and (2) a toothbrush used intermittently over the course of six months (approximately 24 uses).  A new, unused toothbrush was included in the comparison as a control.  The toothpaste was also analyzed as a reference material, since there was a high probability that residual material may remain on the brush after use.  The samples were designated as follows.

Sample # Sample Description
S1 New unused toothbrush (control)
S2 Toothbrush used weekly for 6 months (approximately 24 uses)
S3 Toothpaste (same brand used during toothbrushing)
S4 Toothbrush used for 7 days (approximately 14 uses)

 

FOURIER TRANSFORM INFRARED SPECTROSCOPY (FTIR)

FTIR was used to determine the chemical family of bristles from each corresponding toothbrush using an attenuated total reflection (ATR) sampling technique.  ATR has the advantage of simplicity in enabling samples to be analyzed in their natural state with minimal sample preparation.  FTIR spectroscopy is able to obtain information on the types of chemical functional groups that make-up a material based on the frequency at which bonded atoms vibrate when absorbing infrared light.  FTIR can both confirm the identity of the synthetic polymer that makes up the toothbrush bristles as well as detect percent-level contaminants, such as toothpaste residue.  The spectral fingerprint of the toothpaste was also collected as a reference material, to aid in interpretation of the data.

By applying a computer-assisted search algorithm of the commercial library, it was determined that the toothbrush bristles were composed of Nylon 6/12 material, as can be seen in Figure 1.  Comparing the bristles from different toothbrushes to one another, the spectra look similar by FTIR, but the peak centered at 3296 cm-1 broadens for toothbrush specimens used for longer periods of time. Additionally, a peak around 1082 cm-1 appears in the used bristles and increases in intensity after extended use, as can be seen in Figure 2.  Comparing these spectral features observed in the used toothbrushes to the toothpaste reference spectrum confirms the used toothbrushes contain toothpaste residue. This indicates that even after rinsing with tap water, some toothpaste remains within the toothbrush bristles and the amount of toothpaste in the bristles increases with prolonged use.

To gain additional insight into what specific information can be concluded from the FTIR data, a list of ingredients from the toothpaste was obtained and corresponding reference spectra were selected from the commercial library for comparison.  Among the ingredients listed, FTIR spectra of selected ingredients such as disodium pyrophosphate, hydrated silica, and titanium dioxide were cross-referenced to determine which toothpaste ingredient was responsible for the intense peak at ca. 1082 cm-1.  The stacked plot of spectra in Figure 2 suggests that a major ingredient that is being retained on the bristles after use is from hydrated silica, which is formulated into toothpaste to function as a fine gel abrasive to aide in plaque removal.

Figure 1.  FTIR of the New Toothbrush (S1) (top red) , Toothbrush used for 7 days (S4) (middle, blue), Toothbrush used for six months (S2) (middle green) and a Nylon 6/12 Library Match (bottom, purple)

Figure 2. FTIR of the New Toothbrush (S1) (red), Toothbrush used for 7 days (S4) (blue), Toothbrush used for six months (S2) (green),toothpaste (purple), hydrated silicon dioxide (yellow), titanium dioxide (green), and pyrophosphate disodium (dark blue)

SCANNING ELECTRON MICROSCOPY (SEM)

Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) can be used as a tool to visualize and compare microscopic structures within various materials. In SEM, a focused electron beam scans over the surface of the sample, and a response is generated based on electrons’ interactions with individual atoms that compose the material.  Depending on the type of electron interaction being monitored, the corresponding images convey information about the topography and composition of the sample. For this application, both the toothbrush bristles (Nylon) and the toothpaste residue are non-conductive materials; thus, in order to obtain a well-resolved image, the bristles were sputter coated with a thin layer of metal (gold) to render the surfaces electrically conductive.

Analysis by SEM reveals that, as expected, the new control toothbrush bristle (S1) is smooth and does not have apparent particulate matter (Figure 3). A lower magnification SEM image of the full toothbrush head shows bristles that are separate and able to freely move.  The 7-day intermediate use toothbrush (S4) begins to show wear on the surface of the bristles, and in a lower magnification image, some individual bristles are starting to adhere to one another (Figure 4).  After six months of use, the oldest toothbrush bristles (S2) display extensive fraying and particulate matter (Figure 5). Images of the full toothbrush head exhibit some groups of bristles stuck or “glued” together and packed in columns.  A comparison of all three toothbrushes is provided in Figure 6.

Figure 3. SEM analysis of the new toothbrush bristles at a low magnification (top), a high magnification (middle) and within the bulk toothbrush (bottom)

Figure 4. SEM Analysis of the toothbrush used for 7 days (S4). The top two images display individual bristles at varying magnifications. The bottom two images display bristles within the bulk toothbrush at varying magnifications.

Figure 5. SEM Analysis of Toothbrush used for six months (S2), top (Individual Bristles, with inlay of the fraying and particulate matter at higher magnification), middle (individual bristles displaying particulate matter), bottom two images (Bristles in toothbrush at varying magnifications)

Figure 6. SEM Analysis of a new toothbrush bristle (image 1), new toothbrush bristles in bulk toothbrush (image 2), 7 day old toothbrush bristle (image 3), 7 day old toothbrush bristles in bulk toothbrush (image 4), 6 month old toothbrush bristle (image 5), and 6 month old toothbrush bristles in bulk toothbrush (image 6)

THERMAL GRAVIMETRIC ANALYSIS (TGA)

In thermal gravimetric analysis (TGA), a sample is heated and the corresponding weight change is measured as the material undergoes thermal events.  The amount of inorganic material in the sample can be estimated as the weight percentage of ash that remains after the sample has undergone thermal decomposition.

New and used toothbrush bristles were analyzed by TGA from room temperature to 900°C. After heating, the data indicated that the used toothbrush bristles contained a much higher amount of residual inorganic material. This data is consistent with the FTIR spectra and SEM images, which indicated the presence of inorganic material in the form of toothpaste, is present in and around the bristles. The difference in the TGA curves of the new toothbrush (S1), 7 day old toothbrush (S4), six month old toothbrush (S2) and toothpaste sample can be seen in Figure 7. There is much greater residue in the six month old toothbrush (S2=9.45% residue, maroon trace) than in the toothbrush after 7 days of use (S4=0.78% residue, green trace) and the new toothbrush (S1=0.63% residue, pink trace).  Since TGA only provides gravimetric and not compositional information on the residue,  another analytical technique – energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDS) – was performed on the TGA ash to determine its elemental profile.

Figure 7. Overlay of TGA Thermograms

ENERGY DISPERSIVE X-RAY SPECTROSCOPY (EDS) OF TGA ASH

To gain insight into the chemical composition of the residue that remained following the TGA experiment, an elemental profile was collected on the ash using an energy-dispersive X-ray detector inside the scanning electron microscope.  As the high-energy electron beam scans over the sample, this initiates a series of steps within the atom that ultimately result in an x-ray being emitted.  The energy of this x-ray is characteristic of the specific element that it originated from.  By detecting and measuring the X-rays that are emitted, we are able to determine the elemental profile of the ash.

Upon examination of the data, it is determined that EDS of the TGA ash samples (Figure 8Figure 10) and the toothpaste samples (Figure 11) contain mostly the same elements. The EDS of the ash from bristles of S1 (Figure 8) suggests that silicon (Si) and titanium (Ti) are also present in the new control toothbrush, likely due to pigments formulated into the Nylon bristles.  This complicates the analysis, as coincidentally there is also hydrated silica and titanium dioxide that are ingredients in the toothpaste itself that would be useful as “marker compounds” for the presence of toothpaste.

However, It is important to note from the TGA data, that the ash remaining from the new toothbrush itself is minimal (0.63%) but is significant (26%) in the toothpaste.  Thus, <1% of residue would be attributed to the bristle material itself; since the TGA residue of the six-month use toothbrush (S2) is over 9%, and the most intense peak is silicon (Si), it makes sense, in conjunction with other data, that extra silicon-containing material is due to hydrated silica from toothpaste residue on the bristles.  The presence of sodium (Na), phosphorus (P), and sulfur (S) are also consistent with other ingredients from toothpaste.  The toothbrush used for 7 days (S4) only had 0.78% ash; this just slightly exceeds the new control toothbrush (S1).  Thus, the TGA and EDS data suggest that the intermediate use toothbrush (S4) bristles should not be as hard, since there is not as much residual toothpaste coating the bristles.

Figure 8. EDS of TGA Ash of S1 New Toothbrush (0.63% ashed residue remaining)

Figure 9. EDS of TGA ash of S4 7 day old toothbrush (0.78% ashed residue remaining)

Figure 10. EDS of TGA ash of S2 six month old toothbrush (9.45% ashed residue remaining)

Figure 11.  EDS of S3 Toothpaste TGA Ash (26% ashed residue remaining)

CONCLUSION

A multi-technique approach was employed to investigate a common phenomenon that many of us experience – why toothbrush bristles get hard over time.   FTIR and EDS indicate toothpaste residue accumulates as the duration of use increases. Electron microscopy images show the bristles becoming mechanically damaged and increasingly “glued” together by residual toothpaste over longer use periods. Data from TGA shows that there is significantly more toothpaste residue that builds up on bristles over the course of 6 months of use vs. a toothbrush that has only been used for 7 days.

Several conditions contribute to the bristles becoming hard over time.  The mechanical action from brushing, in the presence of a toothpaste coating, causes the Nylon bristles to begin to fray and break down.  Over time, this can cause the bristles to become adhered to one another and renders the act of rinsing the toothbrush with tap water at the conclusion of brushing less effective.  These factors ultimately result in the bristles becoming stiff and hard and less effective for the user, and usually signals it is time to acquire a new toothbrush!

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.