表面改性聚合物的XPS分析

应用笔记

莫妮卡·诺伊伯格(Monica Neuburger)博士,珍妮弗·霍夫曼(Jennifer Hoffman)博士和丹尼尔·杰德·沙利文(Daniel JD Sullivan)博士

聚合物材料在医疗设备,汽车,电子,食品包装以及广泛的工业和消费产品中无处不在。 1,2  可以出于多种原因对这些材料的表面进行修改:硬化表面,降低或增加表面反应性,改变表面粗糙度等。3,4  常用方法之一涉及使用等离子体蚀刻表面或将自定义功能引入表面。5,6  修改必须是特别希望的修改,并且没有污染。 检查治疗结果的能力是成功开发方法的关键。

表面的等离子体改变是众所周知的过程。 等离子体中的高能量会产生高能物质,这些高能物质可与聚合物表面反应,并形成可挥发的化合物离开表面,从而蚀刻表面,或制成不挥发的化合物,后者会形成薄的阻挡层,从而阻止进一步的反应或减少进一步渗透到聚合物中。材料。

X射线光电子能谱(XPS)是一种完善的表面分析工具。7,8  XPS用于检查表面元素和化学成分,从而提供检测限在0.1%至1%范围内的原子成分(H和He除外)。 用X射线探测表面,X射线迫使样品中的电子射出。 来自顶部50-100Å的电子可以逸出表面,并且可以测量其动能。 光谱通常以“结合能”标​​度显示,基本上是发射电子的动能减去撞击X射线的能量。 碳键合状态通过高分辨率扫描确定。

样品制备: 

在暴露于O之前和之后研究聚丙烯(PP)和聚碳酸酯(PC)的挤出片材2 和含氟血浆(总共六个样品)。 在收到样品后(经IPA擦拭清洁)分析样品的表面2 或F等离子处理(在20W下100分钟,分压为45 mTorr)。 在每次等离子体暴露之间清洁腔室,并且在每个等离子体处理过程中一起运行样品。

日期:

XPS数据是使用Al K Alpha单色源收集的。 所有六个样品的光谱图如图1所示。

勘测光谱的相对较低的能量分辨率完全可以确定表面的原子组成,但是需要高能量分辨率扫描才能识别官能团和/或氧化态。9,10

图1 –所有六个样本的调查光谱。 注意改变O和F峰。

C(1s)峰的高分辨率光谱如图2所示。所有峰均包含284.8 eV的CC烃键。 可以在286-289 eV之间的肩部看到聚碳酸酯中的碳氧官能团,并且在291 eV处观察到指示芳香性的p→p *跃迁。 O2 血浆样品相对于接收的样品显示出碳氧官能度的增加。 这可以从较高结合能下峰强度的增加中看出。 暴露于含F等离子体的样品的CC峰显着降低,表明大量的表面反应。 291 eV以上的峰可归因于多种形式的CFx 粘接。 由于它们最接近F原子,一些碳-氧官能团也已转移到更高的结合能上。

图2 –两种聚合物在接收后和在O之后的高分辨率C(1s)光谱2 和F等离子处理。

讨论:

表面成分的变化:由于O而使an2增加2 清楚地显示了由于F等离子处理而产生的血浆和F。 高分辨率扫描的添加使得可以获得有关表面化学键的更多信息。 收到的C(1s)光谱包含碳氢化合物和多种碳氧键形式。 后O2 在等离子体处理中,CO和C = O的相对含量增加。 F等离子暴露后,CF,CF2和CF3 从两个样品中都观察到物种。

等离子体处理对两种聚合物材料的影响不同,但是引入了相似的表面功能。

概要:

在这项研究中,证明了XPS是评估等离子处理前后两种聚合物类型(聚碳酸酯和聚丙烯)的表面组成(元素和化学状态信息)的有用工具。 通过等离子体处理可以清楚地看到表面的变化,并且在测量和高分辨率光谱中可以看到化学键的详细变化。 通过一些工作,如果C / O或C / F峰的相对强度小于或等于100,则可以用来确定表面化学变化的深度。

其他互补技术可用于研究表面改性对拓扑(AFM),表面张力(接触角)和分子化学(FTIR和TOF-SIMS)的影响。

参考文献:

  1. https://www.mddionline.com/surface-modification-using-low-pressure-plasma-technology
  2. Cho K,Chen JY Chen,LP Long,N。Huang,材料科学与工程,R36(2002)143-206。
  3. 聚合物表面改性:与附着力的关系,KL Mittel,1995年,第199-212页。
  4. Miran Mozetic,表面改性以改善材料的性能,材料,2019,12,441。
  5. M.Liston,L.Martinu和MR Wertheimer(1993)对聚合物进行等离子体表面改性以改善粘合性:一项重要综述,《粘合科学与技术杂志》,7:10,1091-1127,DOI: 10.1163 / 156856193X00600
  6. Lavanya Jothi和Gomathi Nageswaran,用于生物传感器/生物设备应用的等离子体改性聚合物材料,用于聚合物材料的非热等离子体技术,1016 / B978-0-12-813152-7.00015-9,(409-437),(2019年)。
  7. John C. Vickerman,Ian S. Gilmore(编辑),《表面分析:主要技术》,第二版,John Wiley and Sons,英国奇切斯特,2年,第2009–47页
  8. Beamson,D。Briggs,有机聚合物的高分辨率XPS,威利,奇切斯特,1992年
  9. Vesel,M。Mozeti〜,A。Zalar,用RF氧气和氮气等离子体处理后的PTFE的XPS表征,Surf。 界面分析。,40(2008)3-4,661-663
  10. Vandencasteele,F。Reniers,等离子改性聚合物表面:使用XPS表征,电子光谱学和相关现象杂志,178-179(2010),394-408

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

XPS Analysis of Surface Modified Polymers

APPLICATION NOTE

By Monica Neuburger, Ph.D, Jennifer Hoffman, Ph.D, and Daniel J. D. Sullivan, Ph.D

Polymer materials are ubiquitous in medical devices, automobiles, electronics, food packaging and in a wide range of industrial and consumer products. 1,2  The surfaces of these materials can be modified for a variety of reasons: to harden the surface, to reduce or increase the surface reactivity, to alter the surface roughness, etc.3,4  One of the common methods involves using a plasma to etch the surface or to introduce custom functionality to the surface.5,6  The modification needs to be the one specifically desired and be free from contamination.  The ability to check the results of the treatment is key is successful method development.

Plasma alteration of surfaces is a well-known process.  The high energy in a plasma creates energetic species which can react with the polymer surface and create volatile compounds that leave the surface, thereby etching the surface, or make nonvolatile compounds which either create a thin barrier which stops further reaction or reduces further penetration into the material.

X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS) is a well-established surface analysis tool .7,8  XPS is used to examine the surface elemental and chemical composition, providing atomic composition (excluding H and He) with detection limits in the 0.1 to 1% range.  The surface is probed with X-rays which force electrons from the sample to be ejected.   Electrons from the top 50-100 Å  can escape the surface and their kinetic energies can be measured.  Spectra are often displayed on a ‘binding energy’ scale which is basically the kinetic energy of the emitted electrons subtracted from the energy of the impinging X-rays.  The carbon bonding states are determined by use of high-resolution scans.

Sample preparation: 

Extruded sheets of polypropylene (PP) and polycarbonate (PC) are investigated before and after exposure to O2 and F-containing plasmas (a total of six samples).  The surfaces of each sample are analyzed as received (cleaned by IPA wipe) and after O2 or F plasma treatment (20 min at 100W with a partial pressure of 45 mTorr).  The chamber is cleaned between each plasma exposure and the samples are run together in each plasma treatment process.

Data:

The XPS data is collected with a monochromatic source of Al K Alpha.  Survey spectra for all six samples are shown in Figure 1.

The relatively low energy resolution of the survey spectra is perfectly adequate for determining the atomic composition of surfaces, but high energy resolution scans are needed to identify functional groups and/or oxidation states.9,10

Figure 1 – Survey spectra for all six samples.  Note changing O and F peaks.

The high-resolution spectra of the C (1s) peaks are shown in Figure 2.  All contain the C-C hydrocarbon bond at 284.8 eV.  The carbon-oxygen functionalities in polycarbonate can be seen in the shoulder between 286-289 eV and the p →p* transition indicative of aromaticity is observed at 291 eV. The O2 plasma samples show an increase in carbon-oxygen functionalities relative to the as-received samples.  This is seen in the increase in the intensities of the peaks at higher binding energies.  The samples exposed to the F-containing plasma show a substantial reduction in the C-C peak indicating a high amount of surface reactions.  The peaks above 291 eV are attributable to multiple forms of CFx bonding.  Some of the carbon-oxygen functionalities have also been shifted to higher binding energies due to their nearest-neighbor proximity to F atoms.

Figure 2 – high resolution C(1s) spectra of the two polymers as received and after O2 and F plasma treatments.

Discussion:

The alteration of the surface composition: an2 increase in O due to O2 plasma and F due to F plasma treatments is clearly shown. The addition of high resolutions scans enables further information on the chemical bonding at the surface to be obtained. The as received C(1s) spectra contain hydrocarbon and multiple carbon-oxygen bonding forms.  After the O2 plasma treatment the relative amount of C-O, and C=O species increases.  After the F plasma exposure, the CF, CF2, and CF3 species are observed from both samples.

The plasma treatments affect the two polymer materials differently, but similar surface functionalities were introduced.

Summary:

In this study, it was demonstrated that XPS is a useful tool for evaluating the surface composition (elemental and chemical state information) of two polymer types (polycarbonate and polypropylene) before and after plasma treatment.  The alteration of the surfaces by plasma treatment is clearly discerned and the detailed changes in chemical bonding are seen in the survey and high-resolution spectra.  With some work, the relative intensities of the C/O or C/F peaks may be used to determine the depth of the altered surface chemistry if less than ~ 100 Å.

Other complimentary techniques can be used to investigate the effect of surface modification on topology (AFM), surface tension (contact angle), and molecular chemistry (FTIR and TOF-SIMS).

References:

  1. https://www.mddionline.com/surface-modification-using-low-pressure-plasma-technology
  2. K. Cho, J. Y. Chen, L. P. Wong, N. Huang, Materials Science and Engineering, R36 (2002) 143-206.
  3. Polymer Surface Modification: Relevance to Adhesion, K. L. Mittel, 1995, pp 199-212.
  4. Miran Mozetic, Surface Modification to Improve Properties of Materials, Materials, 2019, 12, 441.
  5. M. Liston, L. Martinu & M.R. Wertheimer(1993) Plasma surface modification of polymers for improved adhesion: a critical review, Journal of Adhesion Science and Technology, 7:10, 1091-1127, DOI: 10.1163/156856193X00600
  6. Lavanya Jothi and Gomathi Nageswaran, Plasma Modified Polymeric Materials for Biosensors/Biodevice Applications, Non-Thermal Plasma Technology for Polymeric Materials, 1016/B978-0-12-813152-7.00015-9, (409-437), (2019).
  7. John C. Vickerman, Ian S. Gilmore (editors), Surface Analysis: The Principal Techniques, 2nd edition, John Wiley and Sons, Chichester, UK, 2009, 47–203
  8. Beamson, D. Briggs, High Resolution XPS of Organic Polymers, Wiley, Chichester, 1992
  9. Vesel, M. Mozeti~, A. Zalar, XPS characterization of PTFE after treatment with RF oxygen and nitrogen plasma, Surf. Interface Anal., 40 (2008) 3–4, 661–663
  10. Vandencasteele, F. Reniers, Plasma-modified polymer surfaces: Characterization using XPS, Journal of Electron Spectroscopy and Related Phenomena, 178–179 (2010), 394–408

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.