外科植入物生物陶瓷的表征:第一部分–前体鉴定

白皮书

引言

生物陶瓷是生物材料的重要子集,用于医疗和整形外科领域,主要用于修复和替换人体骨骼,骨骼,牙齿和关节的患病和受损部位。 根据组织对植入物的普遍反应,生物陶瓷可分为三类:(1)生物惰性陶瓷,例如Al2O3和ZrO2; (2)生物活性陶瓷,例如羟基磷灰石(HAp); (3)可生物吸收的陶瓷,例如β-磷酸三钙(β-TCP)。 随着许多生物陶瓷组合物的出现,通过证明其生物相容性并了解其在细胞毒性,组织毒性和遗传毒性水平下的毒理学特征,确保新开发或当前使用的材料的安全性已成为该领域的主要重点。 有关生物陶瓷的安全性和可靠性问题源于生理环境中离子的潜在长时间浸出,组织/植入物界面的完整性以及承重植入物的疲劳断裂和磨损行为。 HAp,β-TCP和半水合硫酸钙和二水合钙由于与人类硬组织的化学和生物学相似性,长期以来被认为是骨骼的合适材料。 在安全性,节省时间和成本方面,在进行体外和体内测试之前,对生物陶瓷粉末和制成的植入物部件进行适当的筛选是有吸引力的。 以下是一组FDA认可的共识标准,以使这些材料可用于外科植入物:

  • ASTM F1185-03(2014年重新批准):用于外科植入物的羟基磷灰石组成的标准规范
  • ASTM F2224-09(2014年重新批准):外科植入物的高纯度半水合硫酸钙或二水合钙的标准规范
  • ISO 13175-3第1版,2012年10月01日:手术植入物—磷酸钙—第3部分:羟基磷灰石和β-磷酸三钙骨替代品
  • ASTM F1088-18:外科植入用β-磷酸三钙的标准规范
  • ISO 13779-2第三版3-2018:外科植入物-羟基磷灰石–第12部分:羟基磷灰石的热喷涂涂层
  • ISO 13779-3第2版,2018-12:手术植入物–羟基磷灰石–第3部分:结晶度比和相纯度的化学分析和表征

本文将展示如何使用现代分析工具(图1)来控制羟基磷灰石和β-磷酸三钙粉末的质量,这些粉末可在适当烧结后直接制成大块零件,或喷涂在承重植入物上以促进初始骨整合。 具体而言,我们将证明EAG在用于外科植入物的生物陶瓷前体的化学,表面和热特性方面的能力(SigmaAldrich®HAp Lot#289396,未烧结的β-TCPLot#13204和烧结的β-TCPLot#49963)。


图1:用于表征生物陶瓷前体的现代分析技术矩阵:X射线光电子能谱(XPS),透射电子显微镜/能量色散X射线能谱(TEM / EDS),X射线衍射(XRD),高性能感应耦合等离子体–发射光谱(HP-ICP-OES),电感耦合等离子体–质谱(ICP-MS)和热重分析/差示扫描量热法–傅立叶转移红外光谱(TGA / DSC-FTIR)。

下载此资源以了解更多信息!

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Characterization of Bioceramics for Surgical Implants: Part I – Precursor Qualification

WHITE PAPER

INTRODUCTION

Bioceramics are an important subset of biomaterials, employed in medical and orthopedic applications, mainly for the repair and replacement of diseased and damaged parts of the human skeleton, bone, teeth and joints. Based on the common response of tissues to implants, bioceramics are classified into three groups: (1) bioinert ceramics, e.g., Al2O3, and ZrO2; (2) bioactive ceramics, e.g., hydroxyapatite (HAp); and (3) bioresorbable ceramics such as β- tricalcium phosphate (β-TCP). With the advent of many bioceramic compositions, it has been the primary focus of this field to ensure the safety of newly developed or currently used materials, by proving their biocompatibility and understanding their toxicological profile, at cytotoxic, histotoxic and genotoxic levels. The safety and reliability concerns regarding bioceramics originates from the potential prolonged leaching of ions in the physiological environment, from the integrity of the tissue/implant interface, and from the fatigue fracture and wear behavior of load-bearing implants. HAp, β-TCP, and calcium sulfate hemihydrate and dihydrate have long been recognized as appropriate materials for bones, due to their chemical and biological similarity to human hard tissues. Properly screening bioceramic powders and fabricated implant parts, prior to in vitro and in vivo tests, is appealing in term of safety, and time- and cost-savings. Below are a set of FDA-recognized consensus standards for qualifying these materials for surgical implants:

  • ASTM F1185-03 (Reapproved 2014): Standard Specification for Composition of Hydroxyapatite for Surgical Implants
  • ASTM F2224-09 (Reapproved 2014): Standard Specification for High Purity Calcium Sulfate Hemihydrate or Dihydrate for Surgical Implants
  • ISO 13175-3 1st edition 2012-10-01: Implants for surgery — Calcium phosphates — Part 3: Hydroxyapatite and beta-tricalcium phosphate bone substitutes
  • ASTM F1088-18: Standard Specification for Beta-Tricalcium Phosphate for Surgical Implantation
  • ISO 13779-2 3rd edition 2018-12: Implants for surgery -Hydroxyapatite – Part 2: Thermally sprayed coatings of hydroxyapatite
  • ISO 13779-3 2nd edition 2018-12: Implants for surgery – Hydroxyapatite – Part 3: Chemical analysis and characterization of crystallinity ratio and phase purity

This paper will demonstrate how modern analytical tools (Figure 1) can be used for the quality control of hydroxyapatite and β-tricalcium phosphate powders, which are either directly manufactured into bulk parts after proper sintering, or spray coated on load-bearing implants to promote initial osseointegration. Specifically, we will demonstrate EAG’s capability in terms of chemical, surface and thermal characterization of bioceramic precursors used for surgical implants (Sigma Aldrich® HAp Lot# 289396, unsintered β-TCP Lot# 13204 and sintered β-TCP Lot#49963).


Figure 1: Modern analytical technique matrix for characterizing bioceramic precursors: X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS), Transmission Electron Microscopy/Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (TEM/EDS), X-ray Diffraction (XRD), High Performance Inductively Coupled Plasma – Optical Emission Spectroscopy (HP-ICP-OES), Inductively Coupled Plasma – Mass Spectroscopy (ICP-MS), and Thermogravimetric Analysis/Differential Scanning Calorimetry – Fourier Transfer Infrared Spectroscopy (TGA/DSC-FTIR).

Download this resource to learn more!

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.