结合分析技术测定塑料中的阻燃材料

白皮书

作者:Anthony Fong,Jesse Allen博士和Yanika Schneider博士

摘要

阻燃化合物在社会中起着重要作用,并且在塑料中特别关键,塑料通常比其他材料更易燃。 为了评估阻燃剂在商业产品中的功效,重要的是要知道浓度和组成。 然而,由于阻燃剂的可变性,适当的分析方法并不总是显而易见的。 在本出版物中,我们分析了一个广告中具有阻燃特性的未知塑料盒。 我们使用一系列分析技术并评估它们之间的兼容性。

引言

阻燃剂材料是保护生命和财产的重要材料。 这些化合物可以帮助减缓或阻止火势蔓延,因此通常可以在各种消费品中找到。 这些化合物的确切成分和浓度对于确定其疗效至关重要,特别是在诉讼案件中。1

许多不同的阻燃材料是可商购的,包括溴化,磷,氮,氯化和无机化合物,例如水合铝,氧化镁和三氧化锑。2-4

由于各种阻燃材料,必须使用几种分析工具来确定组成。 在该出版物中,使用的组合分析了市售的塑料盒 傅里叶变换红外光谱 (FTIR), X射线荧光光谱 (XRF)和 气相色谱质谱 (GCMS)说明了互补技术确定阻燃剂组分的组成和浓度的能力。

实验

图1中所示的塑料盒是从在线零售商处购买的。 使用带锯将盒子切成三块。 使用如下所述的FTIR,XRF和GCMS技术进行实验。

图1。 阻燃填充塑料盒照片。

图1。 阻燃填充塑料盒照片。

FTIR:将一小部分样品转移到红外透射基板上,并使用配备有传输模式的Continuum显微镜的Thermo-Nicolet 6700傅里叶变换红外(FTIR)光谱仪进行检查。 分析点尺寸约为100微米×100微米。 OMNIC 8.0软件用于执行数据分析。

XRF:使用具有铑X射线源x射线管的Rigaku Primus II WDXRF,真空气氛和30 mm直径的分析区域进行X射线荧光(XRF)。 该分析利用波长色散光谱仪(WDXRF),能够检测4(铍)原子序数(Z)至原子序数92(铀)的元素,浓度范围从百万分之一(ppm)到100%按重量计算。

GCMS:通过将一小块塑料溶于二氯甲烷制备提取物。 使用6890 m X 5973 mm DB-30MS(J&W Scientific)色谱柱在带有质量选择检测器(MSD)的Agilent 0.25A气相色谱仪/ Agilent 5质谱仪上以1 mL / min的流速分析提取物。 确定阻燃材料后,使用已知浓度的商业标准品制备1点校准曲线。

结果与讨论

通过FTIR以透射模式检查图1中所示的市售塑料盒。 得到的光谱如图2(黑框)所示。 光谱由3062,3027,2922,2848,2238,1602,1475,1452,759和701 cm-1的峰决定,这是由于丙烯腈丁二烯苯乙烯(ABS)与图书馆参考文献比较确定的。 除了ABS之外,在1551,1475,1393,1318,278,1243,1159和737 cm-1中观察到几个其他峰,这是由于四溴双酚A(TBBPA)。 TBBPA是一种常用的阻燃剂,适用于各种应用.3,4它也是ABS的引发剂聚合物。 此外,在1728 cm-1处观察到痕量酯,其可以是塑料中的添加剂。 总之,这些结果表明TBBPA是塑料中的主要阻燃剂组分,并且基础聚合物是ABS。

图2:填充阻燃剂盒的FTIR光谱,证明存在ABS和TBBPA

图2:填充阻燃剂盒的FTIR光谱,证明存在ABS和TBBPA

XRF直接在一小块塑料上进行,结果总结在表1中。 代表性的XRF光谱如图3所示。 检测到的主要元素包括C,Br,Sb,N和O.C和N的存在证实了ABS基础聚合物的FTIR发现,而高溴水平支持TBBPA作为阻燃剂组分的存在。 ~10%锑含量还表明三氧化锑可以是塑料中的第二阻燃剂组分,其也由Sb与O的比例支持。三氧化锑是通常与溴化化合物组合使用的无机阻燃剂。5

表1:由XRF确定的元素组成a

表1:由XRFa确定的元素组成

a 将结果标准化为测量和检测元素的100%

b 在观察到的水平,浓度可能从仪器背景中获得相当大的贡献

图3:填充阻燃剂盒的XRF光谱,显示高水平的Br和Sb

图3:填充阻燃剂盒的XRF光谱,显示高水平的Br和Sb

GCMS分析在二氯甲烷聚合物提取物上进行,主要挥发物总结在表2中。 图4中显示的质谱再次证实了TBBPA的存在。 在塑料中观察到其他化合物,包括抗氧化剂和ABS衍生物。 注意,三溴双酚A是TBBPA的脱溴产物。 6

使用已知浓度的TBBPA的1-pt校准测定提取物溶液中TBBPA的浓度。 发现提取物中TBBPA的量为6.83 mg / mL,其大约等于48 wt%。 然后计算提取物中Br的量约为28 wt%。 该值非常接近XRF确定的25%wt,表明这两种技术提供了互补的结果。

表2:通过GCMS在聚合物提取物中检测到的挥发物

表2:通过GCMS在聚合物提取物中检测到的挥发物
图4:确认存在TBBPA的聚合物提取物的质谱

图4:确认存在TBBPA的聚合物提取物的质谱

结论

使用包括FTIR,XRF和GCMS在内的一套分析技术检查含有未知阻燃剂的塑料盒。 阻燃剂组分被鉴定为四溴双酚A(TBBPA)和可能的三氧化锑。 通过XRF测定TBBPA的量为~25 wt%,通过GCMS测定~28%。 两个值的接近程度证明了这些方法的兼容性。 总之,结果表明,这些技术的组合产生了关于阻燃剂组合物的补充和可靠的信息。

参考文献:

  1. ED Weil和S. Levchik,消防科学杂志 22,25(2004)。
  2. S. Zhang和AR Horrocks,高分子科学进展。 28,1517(2003)。
  3. L. Chen和Y.-Z Wang。 POLYM。 进阶 TECHNOL, 21 1-26(2010)。
  4. ED Weil,消防科学杂志 29,259(2011)。
  5. U.Sellström,B。Jansson,Chemosphere, 31,3085(1995)。
  6. J. Eriksson,S。Rahm,N。Green,Å。 伯格曼和E.雅各布森。 光化, 54,117(2004)。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Determination of Flame-retardant Materials in Plastics Using a Combination of Analytical Techniques

WHITE PAPER

By Anthony Fong, Dr. Jesse Allen, and Dr. Yanika Schneider

ABSTRACT

Flame retardant compounds serve an important purpose in society and are particularly critical in plastics, which are often more flammable than other materials. To evaluate the efficacy of flame retardants in commercial products, it is important to know both the concentration and composition. However, due to the variability of flame retardants, the appropriate analytical method is not always obvious. In this publication, we analyze an unknown plastic box advertised to have flame retardant properties. We use a series of analytical techniques and evaluate their compatibility with one another.

INTRODUCTION

Flame retardants materials constitute an important class of materials for protecting life and property. These compounds can help slow or stop the spread of fire, and as such are typically found in a variety of consumer goods. The exact composition and concentration of these compounds is essential for determining their efficacy, especially in cases of litigation.1

Many different retardant materials are commercially available, including brominated, phosphorus, nitrogen, chlorinated, and inorganic compounds such as hydrated aluminum, magnesium oxide, and antimony trioxide.2-4

Due to the variety of flame retardant materials, several analytical tools must be employed to determine the composition. In this publication, a commercially available plastic box was analyzed using a combination of fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR), x-ray fluoresence spectoscopy (XRF) and gas chromatography mass spectroscopy (GCMS) to illustrate the power of complimentary techniques to determine the composition and concentration of the flame retardant component.

EXPERIMENTAL

A plastic box shown in Figure 1 was purchased from an online retailer. The box was cut into three pieces using a band saw. Experiments were performed using FTIR, XRF and GCMS techniques as described below.

Figure 1. Photo of flame retardant-filled plastic box.

Figure 1. Photo of flame retardant-filled plastic box.

FTIR: A small portion of the sample was transferred to an infrared transmitting substrate and examined using a Thermo- Nicolet 6700 Fourier Transform Infrared (FTIR) spectrometer equipped with a Continuum microscope in transmission mode. The analytical spot size was approximately 100 microns x 100 microns. OMNIC 8.0 software was used to perform data analysis.

XRF: X-ray Fluorescence (XRF) was performed using a Rigaku Primus II WDXRF with a rhodium X-ray source x-ray tube, vacuum atmosphere and an analysis area of 30 mm diameter. This analysis utilized a wavelength dispersive spectrometer (WDXRF) that is capable of detecting elements from atomic number (Z) of 4 (beryllium) through atomic number 92 (uranium) at concentrations from the low parts per million (ppm) range up to 100% by weight.

GCMS: An extract was prepared by dissolving a small piece of plastic in dichloromethane. The extract was analyzed on an Agilent 6890A Gas Chromatograph/ Agilent 5973 Mass Spectrometer with a mass selective detector (MSD) using a 30 m X 0.25 mm DB-5MS (J&W Scientific) column under a flow rate of 1 mL/min. Once the flame retardant material was determined, a 1-point calibration curve was prepared using a commercial standard with a known concentration.

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION

A commercially available plastic box shown in Figure 1 was examined by FTIR in transmission mode. The resulting spectrum is shown in Figure 2 (black box). The spectrum is dominated by peaks at 3062, 3027, 2922, 2848, 2238, 1602, 1475, 1452, 759, and 701 cm-1, which are due to acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) as determined by comparison with library references. In addition to ABS, several other peaks were observed at 1551, 1475, 1393, 1318, 278, 1243, 1159, and 737 cm-1, which are due to tetrabromobisphenol A (TBBPA). TBBPA is a commonly used fire retardant in a variety of applications.3,4 It is also an initiator polymerization of ABS. Furthermore, a trace ester is observed at 1728 cm-1, which may be an additive in the plastic. Altogether, these results demonstrate that TBBPA is the main flame retardant component in the plastic and that the base polymer is ABS.

Figure 2: FTIR spectrum of flame retardant-filled box demonstrating presence of ABS and TBBPA

Figure 2: FTIR spectrum of flame retardant-filled box demonstrating presence of ABS and TBBPA

XRF was performed directly on a small piece of plastic and the results are summarized in Table 1. A representative XRF spectrum is shown in Figure 3. The main elements detected include C, Br, Sb, N and O. The presence of C and N confirms the FTIR finding of ABS base polymer, while the high bromine level supports the presence of TBBPA as a flame retardant component. The ~10% antimony content also suggests that antimony trioxide may be a second flame retardant component in the plastic, which is also supported by the ratio of Sb to O. Antimony trioxide is an inorganic flame retardant commonly used in combination with brominated compounds.5

Table 1: Elemental composition determined by XRFa

Table 1: Elemental composition determined by XRFa

a The results are normalized to 100% of the measured and detected elements

b At levels observed, the concentrations may have a considerable contribution from instrumental background

Figure 3: XRF spectrum of flame retardant-filled box showing high levels of Br and Sb

Figure 3: XRF spectrum of flame retardant-filled box showing high levels of Br and Sb

GCMS analysis was performed on a dichloromethane polymer extract and the major volatiles are summarized in Table 2. The presence of TBBPA is again confirmed by the mass spectrum shown in Figure 4. Other compounds are observed in the plastic, including antioxidant(s) and ABS-derivatives. Note that tribromobisphenol A is a de-bromination product of TBBPA. 6

The concentration of TBBPA in the extract solution was determined using a 1-pt calibration with a known concentration of TBBPA. The amount of TBBPA in the extract was found to be 6.83 mg/mL, which equals approximately 48 wt%. The amount of Br in the extract is then calculated to be approximately 28 wt%. This value is very close to the 25% wt determined by XRF, suggesting that the two techniques provide complimentary results.

Table 2: Volatiles detected in polymer extract by GCMS

Table 2: Volatiles detected in polymer extract by GCMS
Figure 4: Mass spectrum of polymer extract confirming presence of TBBPA

Figure 4: Mass spectrum of polymer extract confirming presence of TBBPA

CONCLUSIONS

A plastic box containing an unknown flame retardant was examined using a suite of analytical techniques including FTIR, XRF and GCMS. The flame retardant components were identified as tetrabromobisphenol A (TBBPA) and possibly antimony trioxide. The amount of TBBPA was determined to be ~25 wt% by XRF and ~28% by GCMS. The proximity of the two values demonstrates the compatibility of the methods. Altogether, the results suggest that the combination of techniques produces complimentary and reliable information about the flame retardant composition.

REFERENCES

  1. E. D. Weil and S. Levchik, Journal of Fire Sciences 22, 25 (2004).
  2. S. Zhang and A.R. Horrocks, Progress in Polymer Science. 28, 1517 (2003).
  3. L. Chen and Y.-Z Wang. Polym. Adv. Technol., 21 1–26 (2010).
  4. E. D. Weil, Journal of Fire Sciences 29, 259 (2011).
  5. U. Sellström, B. Jansson, Chemosphere, 31, 3085 (1995).
  6. J. Eriksson, S. Rahm, N. Green, Å. Bergman and E. Jakobsson. Chemosphere, 54, 117 (2004).

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.