Détermination quantitative des éthoxylates de nonylphénol

Whitepaper

Abstrait

Cette méthode sert à la détermination quantitative des NPE par LC / MS.

Introduction

Les NP / NPE, également appelés nonylphénols et éthoxylates de nonylphénol, sont des tensioactifs non ioniques ou des substances de type détergent, dont les utilisations entraînent une libération généralisée dans les milieux aquatiques. Les NPE sont utilisés comme détergents, émulsifiants, agents mouillants, procédés industriels, hygiène personnelle, automobile, peintures au latex et produits d'entretien des pelouses. Leur présence dans l'environnement est uniquement due aux activités humaines, et principalement aux STEP (station d'épuration) et aux rejets directs. Plus de 80% de l'alkylphénol produit sont des composés à base de nonylphénol. Les autres sont principalement des composés à base d'octylphénol. Les NPE sont dégradés en éthoxylates de nonylphénol à chaîne plus courte ainsi qu'en éthoxycarboxylates de nonylphénol plus courts dans des conditions aérobies, avant d'être biodégradés en nonylphénol. Les NPE à chaîne éthoxylate plus courte ont une toxicité plus grande que les plus longs. Il a été signalé que ces NPE à chaîne plus courte provoquent un certain nombre de réponses œstrogéniques sur les organismes aquatiques et ont donc été classés comme perturbateurs endocriniens (EDC) par plusieurs organisations.2. Nous avons développé une méthode utilisant la chromatographie liquide couplée à la spectrométrie de masse pour l'identification et la quantification des NPE.

Chromatographie en phase liquide / Spectrométrie de masse (LC / MS)

LC / MS figure sur les champs d'accréditation STL 17025. LC / MS combine les techniques de HPLC et MS pour caractériser les structures des composants dans une matrice complexe. La HPLC est utilisée pour la séparation des composés dans l'échantillon. Un mélange de solvants ou de solutions, appelé phase mobile, est forcé à haute pression à travers une colonne garnie, généralement de particules de silice enrobées, appelée phase stationnaire. Les composants du mélange sont séparés en fonction de la différence de leurs affinités pour la phase stationnaire et la phase mobile et peuvent être détectés et mesurés lorsqu'ils s'éluent de la colonne. En règle générale, la détection HPLC est effectuée à l'aide d'un détecteur UV contrôlant l'absorption à une ou plusieurs longueurs d'onde cibles. Le temps qu'un composant chimique passe dans la colonne depuis l'injection jusqu'à la détection est connu comme le temps de rétention et est un indicateur de l'identité du composant par rapport au temps de rétention des standards connus dans les mêmes conditions. La surface ou hauteur de pic mesurée dépend de la concentration et peut être utilisée pour quantifier le composant. La figure 1 montre le profil chromatographique et spectral de masse de l'étalon.

Figure 1. Chromatogrammes LC / MS (ci-dessus) et spectres de masse (ci-dessous) de NPE

Téléchargez cette ressource pour en savoir plus!

Pour activer certaines fonctionnalités et améliorer votre expérience avec nous, ce site stocke des cookies sur votre ordinateur. Veuillez cliquer sur Continuer pour donner votre autorisation et supprimer définitivement ce message.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre Politique de confidentialité.

Quantitative Determination of Nonylphenol Ethoxylates

WHITE PAPER

By Saheel Bhana, Ph.D., Doug Hammerstroem, Ph.D., and Jesse Westhoff

Abstract

This method is for the quantitative determination of NPEs by LC/MS.

Introduction

NP/NPEs, also known as nonylphenols and nonylphenol ethoxylates, are nonionic surfactants, or detergent-like substances, with uses that lead to widespread release into aquatic environments. NPEs are used as detergents, emulsifiers, wetting agents, industrial processes, personal hygiene, automotive, latex paints, and lawn care products. Their presence in the environment is solely due to human activities, and mainly from WWTPs (waste water treatment plant) and direct discharge. Over 80% of alkylphenol produced are nonylphenol based compounds. The rest are mostly octylphenol based compounds. NPEs are degraded to shorter chain nonylphenol ethoxylates as well as shorter nonylphenol ethoxycarboxylates under aerobic condition, before being biodegraded to nonylphenol. Shorter ethoxylate chain NPEs have greater toxicity than longer ones. These shorter chain NPEs have been reported to cause a number of estrogenic responses on aquatic organisms and thus they have been classified as endocrine disruptors (EDCs) by several organizations2. We have developed a method using liquid chromatography coupled with mass spectrometry for identification and quantitation of NPEs.

Liquid Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry (LC/MS)

LC/MS is on the STL 17025 Scopes of Accreditation. LC/MS combines the techniques of HPLC and MS to characterize the structures of components in a complex matrix. HPLC is used for the separation of the compounds in the sample. A mixture of solvents or solutions, called the mobile phase, is forced at high pressure through a packed column, usually of coated silica particles, called the stationary phase. Components in the mixture are separated based on the difference in their affinities for the stationary phase and the mobile phase and can be detected and measured as they elute from the column. Typically, HPLC detection is performed using a UV detector monitoring absorption at a target wavelength or wavelengths. The time a chemical component spends in the column from injection until detection is known as retention time and is an indicator of component identity when compared with the retention time of known standards under the same conditions. The measured peak area or height is concentration dependent and may be used to quantify the component. Figure 1 shows the chromatographic and mass spectra profile of the standard.

Figure 1. LC/MS chromatograms (above) and mass spectra (below) of NPE

Summary

NPEs are produced in large volumes for use in industrial processes and in consumer detergents, hygiene products, automotive, paints, and landscaping products. The production and use of NPE’s are prohibited in the European Union (EU) due to health and environmental effects. In the United States, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), has set recommended limits on NPE concentrations in fresh and salt water. The EPA is pushing for a voluntary phase-out of NPEs and future usage regulations similar to the EU.

EAG provides the quality NPEs testing data to help clients address these concerns and more:

  • Qualify a product or manufacturer
  • Perform an external quality control check for their industrial process
  • Test potential contamination from the use of a product that contains NPEs
  • Resolve a dispute which centers around the use of a product that contains NPEs

References

[2] J.W. Birkett, J.N. Lester, Endocrine Disrupters in Wastewater and Sludge Treatment Processes, CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL, 2003.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.