壬基酚乙氧基化物的定量测定

白皮书

由Saheel Bhana博士,Doug Hammerstroem博士和Jesse Westhoff撰写

抽象

该方法用于通过LC / MS定量测定NPE。

介绍

NP / NPE也称为壬基酚和壬基酚乙氧基化物,是非离子表面活性剂或类似洗涤剂的物质,其用途可导致广泛释放到水生环境中。 NPE用作清洁剂,乳化剂,湿润剂,工业过程,个人卫生,汽车,乳胶漆和草坪护理产品。 它们在环境中的存在完全是由于人类活动造成的,并且主要来自污水处理厂(废水处理厂)和直接排放。 产生的烷基酚中超过80%是壬基酚基化合物。 其余大部分是基于辛基苯酚的化合物。 NPE在好氧条件下被降解为短链壬基酚乙氧基化物和短壬基酚乙氧基羧酸盐,然后被生物降解为壬基酚。 较短的乙氧基链NPE比较长的NPE具有更大的毒性。 据报道,这些较短链的NPE对水生生物引起多种雌激素反应,因此,一些组织将其归类为内分泌干扰物(EDC)。2。 我们已经开发了一种使用液相色谱与质谱联用的方法来鉴定和定量NPE。

液相色谱/质谱(LC / MS)

LC / MS属于STL 17025认证范围。 LC / MS结合了HPLC和MS的技术来表征复杂基质中各组分的结构。 HPLC用于分离样品中的化合物。 高压下迫使溶剂或溶液的混合物(称为流动相)通过填充柱,该填充柱通常由被涂覆的二氧化硅颗粒填充,称为固定相。 根据混合物对固定相和流动相的亲和力差异,分离混合物中的组分,并在从色谱柱上洗脱下来时对其进行检测和测量。 通常,使用检测目标波长或多个波长处的吸收的UV检测器执行HPLC检测。 从注射到检测到化学成分在色谱柱中停留的时间称为保留时间,与相同条件下已知标准物的保留时间相比,它是成分同一性的指标。 测得的峰面积或峰高取决于浓度,可用于定量组分。 图1显示了标准品的色谱图和质谱图。

图1. NPE的LC / MS色谱图(上)和质谱图(下)

总结

NPE大量生产,用于工业过程以及消费洗涤剂,卫生产品,汽车,油漆和园林绿化产品。 由于对健康和环境的影响,在欧洲联盟(EU)中禁止生产和使用NPE。 在美国,环境保护署(EPA)已对淡水和盐水中NPE的浓度设定了建议的限值。 EPA正在推动自愿淘汰NPE和与欧盟类似的未来使用法规。

EAG提供高质量的NPE测试数据,以帮助客户解决这些问题以及更多:

  • 合格产品或制造商
  • 对他们的工业过程执行外部质量控制检查
  • 测试使用含有NPE的产品的潜在污染
  • 解决围绕使用含有NPE的产品的争议

參考資料

[2] JW Birkett,JN Lester,废水和污泥处理过程中的内分泌干扰物,CRC出版社,佛罗里达州博卡拉顿,2003年。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Quantitative Determination of Nonylphenol Ethoxylates

WHITE PAPER

By Saheel Bhana, Ph.D., Doug Hammerstroem, Ph.D., and Jesse Westhoff

Abstract

This method is for the quantitative determination of NPEs by LC/MS.

Introduction

NP/NPEs, also known as nonylphenols and nonylphenol ethoxylates, are nonionic surfactants, or detergent-like substances, with uses that lead to widespread release into aquatic environments. NPEs are used as detergents, emulsifiers, wetting agents, industrial processes, personal hygiene, automotive, latex paints, and lawn care products. Their presence in the environment is solely due to human activities, and mainly from WWTPs (waste water treatment plant) and direct discharge. Over 80% of alkylphenol produced are nonylphenol based compounds. The rest are mostly octylphenol based compounds. NPEs are degraded to shorter chain nonylphenol ethoxylates as well as shorter nonylphenol ethoxycarboxylates under aerobic condition, before being biodegraded to nonylphenol. Shorter ethoxylate chain NPEs have greater toxicity than longer ones. These shorter chain NPEs have been reported to cause a number of estrogenic responses on aquatic organisms and thus they have been classified as endocrine disruptors (EDCs) by several organizations2. We have developed a method using liquid chromatography coupled with mass spectrometry for identification and quantitation of NPEs.

Liquid Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry (LC/MS)

LC/MS is on the STL 17025 Scopes of Accreditation. LC/MS combines the techniques of HPLC and MS to characterize the structures of components in a complex matrix. HPLC is used for the separation of the compounds in the sample. A mixture of solvents or solutions, called the mobile phase, is forced at high pressure through a packed column, usually of coated silica particles, called the stationary phase. Components in the mixture are separated based on the difference in their affinities for the stationary phase and the mobile phase and can be detected and measured as they elute from the column. Typically, HPLC detection is performed using a UV detector monitoring absorption at a target wavelength or wavelengths. The time a chemical component spends in the column from injection until detection is known as retention time and is an indicator of component identity when compared with the retention time of known standards under the same conditions. The measured peak area or height is concentration dependent and may be used to quantify the component. Figure 1 shows the chromatographic and mass spectra profile of the standard.

Figure 1. LC/MS chromatograms (above) and mass spectra (below) of NPE

Summary

NPEs are produced in large volumes for use in industrial processes and in consumer detergents, hygiene products, automotive, paints, and landscaping products. The production and use of NPE’s are prohibited in the European Union (EU) due to health and environmental effects. In the United States, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), has set recommended limits on NPE concentrations in fresh and salt water. The EPA is pushing for a voluntary phase-out of NPEs and future usage regulations similar to the EU.

EAG provides the quality NPEs testing data to help clients address these concerns and more:

  • Qualify a product or manufacturer
  • Perform an external quality control check for their industrial process
  • Test potential contamination from the use of a product that contains NPEs
  • Resolve a dispute which centers around the use of a product that contains NPEs

References

[2] J.W. Birkett, J.N. Lester, Endocrine Disrupters in Wastewater and Sludge Treatment Processes, CRC Press, Boca Raton, FL, 2003.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.