用光栅变换技术分析碳化硅中氮的SIMS分析

白皮书

摘要

今天的最新技术 碳化硅(SiC) 生长可以产生半绝缘晶体,背景掺杂在5×10附近15 原子/ cm3 或更低。 必须有一个精确的测量技术,检测限低,以测量低浓度氮浓度。 当前SIMS检测极限为低E15原子/ cm3 将提供准确测定5E16的氮掺杂水平/ cm3 或更高。 为了确定较低的氮浓度,有必要提供更好的检测限并适当地分离背景氮的贡献。 “光栅变换”方法提供了一种准确的方法来确定和消除背景氮对信号的贡献,因为可以通过在轮廓期间改变主光束光栅尺寸在样品的相同位置分析二次离子强度和基质离子强度。 在这项研究中,我们成功地将光栅变换方法应用于(a)位于SiC外延层下的SiC衬底中的N,以及(b)检测到低至3E14 / cm的N.3 体掺杂SiC衬底。

引言

由于其在深度剖析模式下对各种元素具有高检测灵敏度的独特功能, 二次离子质谱(SIMS) 是一个必不可少的工具 描述 SiC材料中的掺杂剂和杂质

氮是SiC中的浅供体,在所有SiC晶片和外延层中作为痕量杂质存在。 根据设计和操作,SiC生长系统可能含有大量的氮,这将导致生长材料中的氮残留掺杂波动。 对于半绝缘晶片和低掺杂外延层的可再现生长,需要低且受控的氮背景。 这些晶体中的氮的SIMS反馈可以提供对补偿机制和工艺条件的理解。

多年来,SIMS一直用于测定E17至E19原子/ cm水平的氮浓度3 精度很高。 今天最先进的SiC生长可以产生半绝缘晶体,背景掺杂在5×10附近15 原子/ cm3 或更低。 它要求SIMS具有更好的精度来测量低浓度氮浓度。

通过升级的SIMS仪器(改进的真空和更好的主光束强度)和改进的分析协议,我们现在可以实现2-5E15原子的N检测限/ cm3 通常,同时保持出色的深度分辨率。 尽管这些检测限非常好,但不足以提供常规方法来精确测量低电平(<5e15原子/ cm3)碳化硅中的氮浓度。 在这些背景水平下的简单背景去除(2-5E15原子/ cm3)可以引入大的和未定义的错误。 氮气背景极低(6-8E14原子/ cm3)是可以实现的,但是非常耗时,并且不能一直保证。

为了以足够的精度确定低氮浓度,需要[1](a)更好的信噪比; (b)从测量信号中减去背景贡献的正确方法,因为背景贡献可能随时间变化,并且在SIMS样品架中的位置也可能不同。 为了解决这些问题,我们将SIMS“光栅改变”技术应用于低氮浓度(<5e15原子/厘米)的碳化硅样品3)以确定样品中的氮浓度并验证结果的精确度。 “光栅变化”方法提供了一种准确的方法来确定和消除背景氮对信号的贡献,因为可以通过在轮廓期间改变主光束光栅尺寸在样品的相同位置分析二次离子强度和基质离子强度[2] 。 该技术的缺点在于它只能用于均匀掺杂的样品或浓度均匀的深度区域。

实验

使用配备有氧气和/或Cs主光束源的CAMECA IMS-4f双聚焦磁性扇形仪器进行实验。 通过聚焦的Cs溅射样品+ 初级离子束,在一个正方形区域上光栅化。 分析中使用的电子束电流为200至300 nA。 在溅射过程中形成的次级离子被– 4500 V的样品电压加速离开样品表面。次级离子通过静电分析仪进行能量分离,并通过电磁质量分析仪根据其质荷比进行质量分离。 通过分析仪后,可使用法拉第杯(基质离子)或电子倍增器(氮离子)检测离子。

样品包括在N掺杂的块状SiC上生长的非常低的N掺杂块状SiC和N掺杂的SiC外延。

结果与讨论

在该实验中,氮浓度由氮(N +13 C) - 和矩阵(Si) - 125μm×125μm光栅和50μm×50μm光栅的二次离子强度(图1)。 SiC样品中的氮浓度[N]和仪器背景中氮的贡献[N.B]可以使用Eq计算。 1和Eq。 2 [2]:

[N] = RSF×(IN1-IN2)/(一世M1-IM2)(1)

[NB1] = RSF×(我N1/IM1)– [N](2)

其中RSF是相对灵敏度因子,由用于氮浓度校准的SiC中的氮注入标准确定; 一世N1-IN2 是两种不同光栅下的氮二次离子强度,IM1-IM2 在这两种不同的光栅下是相应的矩阵二次离子强度。

由三次测量确定的平均氮浓度是3.5E15原子/ cm3 精度为±9%(1相对标准偏差)。 结果表明,使用光栅变换技术,即使在相对较高的氮背景水平下,也能够以良好的精度测量低水平的氮。

图1光栅更改显示N个配置文件。 所示的N在50μm×50μm光栅处量化。

图1 光栅变化显示N轮廓。 所示的N在50μm×50μm光栅处量化。

我们还将光栅变化技术应用于低氮浓度区域的SiC外延样品,其上面有氮掺杂层(图2)。 在该层中检测到氮,净氮浓度为1.9E15原子/ cm3。 正常光栅区域的溅射速率由注入标准确定,并且在减小的光栅区域的溅射速率由基质电流比导出。

图NN掺杂外延层后的2光栅变化。 显示的N在正常光栅下量化。

图2 N掺杂外延层后的栅格变化。 显示的N在正常光栅下量化。

最后,我们将光栅变化技术应用于SiC中非常低的体积N(图3)。 这里检测到的N是3E14原子/ cm3.

图3光栅变化适用于非常低的N掺杂SiC。

图3 光栅变化适用于非常低的N掺杂SiC。

概要

使用光栅变换技术成功地实现了SiC中非常低水平的N的SIMS测量。 该方法可应用于块状SiC,epi SiC,以及低至3E14原子/ cm的N水平3.

致谢

我们要感谢瑞典的Okmetic AB提供本研究中使用的样品。

参考文献:

[1] RS Hockett等,High Purity Silicon VI,Electrochemical Society PV 2000-17,2000,p。 584。

[2] A.Ishitani等,在国际材料与过程表征会议论文集(ICMPC'88),1988,p。 124。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

SIMS Analysis of Nitrogen in Silicon Carbide Using Raster Change Technique

WHITE PAPER

ABSTRACT

Today’s state of the art silicon carbide (SiC) growth can produce semi-insulating crystals with a background doping around 5×1015 atoms/cm3 or lower. It is essential to have an accurate measurement technique with low enough detection limit to measure low level nitrogen concentration. Current SIMS detection limit of low E15 atoms/cm3 will provide accurate determination for nitrogen doping level of 5E16 at/cm3 or higher. In order to determine the lower nitrogen concentration, it is necessary to provide a better detection limit and to separate the contribution of background nitrogen properly. The “raster changing” method provides an accurate way to determine and remove contribution of background nitrogen to the signal, because secondary ion intensities and matrix ion intensities can be analyzed at the same location of the sample by changing the primary beam raster size during a profile. In this study we have succeeded in applying the raster changing method to (a) N in the SiC substrate located under an SiC epi layer, and (b) the detection of N as low as 3E14/ cm3 a bulk-doped SiC substrate.

INTRODUCTION

Due to its unique capabilities of high detection sensitivity for a variety of elements under depth profiling mode, Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS) is an essential tool for characterization of dopants and impurities in SiC material.

Nitrogen, which is a shallow donor in SiC, is present as a trace impurity in all SiC wafers and epi-layers. Depending on the design and its operation, a SiC growth system can contain significant amounts of nitrogen, which will lead to a fluctuating nitrogen residual doping in the grown material. A low and controlled nitrogen background is necessary for reproducible growth of semiinsulating wafers and low doped epi-layers. SIMS feedback of nitrogen in these crystals can provide understanding of the compensation mechanism and process conditions.

For many years, SIMS has been used routinely to determine nitrogen concentration at level of E17 to E19 atoms/cm3 with good precision. Today’s state of the art SiC growth can produce semiinsulating crystals with a background doping around 5×1015 atoms/cm3 or lower. It requires SIMS to have better precision to measure low level nitrogen concentration.

With upgraded SIMS instrumentation (improved vacuum and better primary beam intensity) and improved analysis protocol, we can now achieve N detection limit of 2-5E15 atoms/cm3 routinely while maintaining excellent depth resolution. While these detection limits are very good, they are not sufficient to provide a routine way for an accurate measurement of low level (<5e15 atoms/cm3) nitrogen concentration in silicon carbide. A simple background removal at these background levels (2-5E15 atoms/cm3) can introduce large and un-defined errors. An extremely low nitrogen background (6- 8E14 atoms/cm3) is achievable, but is very time consuming and cannot be guaranteed at all the times.

To determine low nitrogen concentrations with adequate precision, it requires [1] (a) better Signal-to-Noise ratio; (b) a proper way to subtract background contribution from the measured signal, because the background contribution can change over time, and can also vary from location to location in a SIMS sample holder. To solve these issues, we applied the SIMS “raster changing” technique to a silicon carbide sample with low level of nitrogen concentration (<5e15 atoms/cm3) in order to determine the nitrogen concentration in the sample and to verify the precision of the result. The “raster changing” method provides an accurate way to determine and remove contribution of background nitrogen to the signal, because secondary ion intensities and matrix ion intensities can be analyzed at same location of sample by changing primary beam raster size during a profile [2]. The disadvantage of this technique is that it can be used only on uniformly doped sample or in the region of depth where the concentration is uniform.

EXPERIMENTAL

The experiments were performed using a CAMECA IMS-4f double focusing magnetic sector instruments equipped with oxygen and/or Cs primary beam sources. The samples were sputtered by a focused Cs+ primary ion beam, which is rastered over a square area. Beam current used in the analysis are 200 to 300 nA. Secondary ions formed during the sputtering process are accelerated away from the sample surface by a sample voltage of – 4500 V. Secondary ions were energy separated by an Electrostatic Analyzer and mass separated based on their mass/charge ratio by a Magnetic Mass Analyzer. After passing through the analyzers, the ions are detected using either a Faraday cup (Matrix ions) or an Electron Multiplier (nitrogen ions).

Samples included both very low N-doped bulk SiC and N-doped SiC epi grown on N-doped bulk SiC.

RESULTS & DISCUSSION

In this experiment, nitrogen concentration was determined from nitrogen (N+13 C)- and matrix (Si)- secondary ion intensity at 125 μm x 125 μm raster and 50 μm x 50 μm raster (Fig. 1). The nitrogen concentration [N] in the SiC sample and contribution of nitrogen from instrument background [NB] can be calculated using Eq. 1 and Eq. 2 [2]:

[N] = RSF × (IN1-IN2)/(IM1-IM2)                   (1)

[NB1] = RSF × (IN1/IM1) – [N]                     (2)

Where RSF is Relative Sensitivity Factor determined from nitrogen implant standard in SiC used for nitrogen concentration calibration; IN1-IN2 are nitrogen secondary ion intensities under two different rasters, and IM1-IM2 are corresponding matrix secondary ion intensities under these two different rasters.

The average nitrogen concentration determined from three measurements is 3.5E15 atoms/cm3 with precision of ±9% (1 relative standard deviation). Results demonstrated that low level nitrogen can be measured with good precision, even at relatively high nitrogen background level, using raster changing technique.

Figure 1 Raster change showing N profile. The N shown is quantified at the 50 μm x 50 μm raster.
Figure 1 Raster change showing N profile. The N shown is quantified at the 50 μm x 50 μm raster.

We also applied raster change technique to a SiC epi sample in the low nitrogen concentration region that has nitrogen doped layers on top of it (Fig. 2). The nitrogen was detected in this layer with net nitrogen concentration of 1.9E15 atoms/cm3. The sputtering rate for normal raster region was determined from implant standard, and sputtering rate at reduced raster region was derived from the matrix current ratio.

Figure 2 Raster change after N doped epi layer. The N shown is quantified at normal raster.
Figure 2 Raster change after N doped epi layer. The N shown is quantified at normal raster.

Lastly, we applied the raster change technique to a very low level of bulk N in SiC (Fig. 3). Here the detected N is 3E14 atoms/cm3.

Figure 3 Raster change applied to very low N doped SiC.
Figure 3 Raster change applied to very low N doped SiC.

SUMMARY

The SIMS measurement of very low levels of N in SiC has been successfully achieved using the raster change technique. This method can be applied to bulk SiC, epi SiC, and down to N levels as low as 3E14 atoms/cm3.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We would like to thank Okmetic AB, Sweden, for providing samples used in this study.

REFERENCES

[1] R.S. Hockett, et al., in High Purity Silicon VI, Electrochemical Society PV 2000-17, 2000, p. 584.

[2] A. Ishitani, et al., in Proceedings of the international Conference on Materials and Process Characterization for VLSI (ICMPC’88), 1988, p. 124.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.