耐火材料分析

玻璃罐式炉的内壁的腐蚀是玻璃中众所周知的缺陷来源。 玻璃罐炉中通常使用的耐火材料是氧化锆,氧化铝和二氧化硅基砖。 也可以使用镁或钙的其他氧化物。 这些材料应具有较高的机械强度,优异的热冲击稳定性以及对液体玻璃和气态反应产物的良好耐腐蚀性。 然而,温度和化学腐蚀以及机械腐蚀问题会及时发生,导致玻璃缺陷或缺陷的数量增加。

使用X射线衍射鉴定结晶相

在X射线衍射(XRD)模式中,最大值的位置和强度是材料的晶体结构和原子组成的特征。 在多相组成的情况下,所得图案是存在的所有结构的图案的组合。 可以通过将XRD图谱与纯物质的参考图谱进行匹配来完成相识别。

常见应用:

  • 耐火材料的相识别
  • 鉴定(重矿物)
  • 大石头的晶体学数据
耐火材料的XRD图谱和确定的晶体学结构的参考图谱

显微组织的电子显微镜研究

为了对玻璃产品中夹杂物的来源有更多的了解,对耐火材料进行详细检查至关重要。 扫描电子显微镜(SEM)与能量色散X射线光谱仪(EDX或EDS)相结合,可深入了解炉壁与玻璃之间的界面反应。

难熔/玻璃界面上存在的各种相的SEM-EDS映射

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Analysis of refractory materials

Corrosion of the inner walls of glass tank furnaces is a well-known source of defects in glass. Refractory materials that are typically used in glass tank furnaces are zirconia, alumina and silica-based bricks. Other oxides of magnesium or calcium might be applied as well. The materials should have high mechanical strength, excellent thermal shock stability and good corrosion resistance to liquid glass and gaseous reaction products. Temperature and chemical corrosion and mechanical erosion issues can however occur in time, resulting in an increase in the number of glass faults or defects.

Crystallographic phase identification using X-ray diffraction

In an X-ray diffraction (XRD) pattern the position and intensity of the maxima are characteristic for the crystallographic structure and the atomic composition of the material. In case of a multi-phase composition, the resulting pattern is a combination of the patterns of all structures present. Phase identification can be done by matching the XRD pattern with reference patterns of pure substances.

Common applications:

  • Phase identification of refractory material
  • Identification of (heavy) minerals
  • Crystallographic data of large stones
XRD pattern of refractory material and reference patterns of identified crystallographic structures

Electron microscopy studies of the microstructure

In order to gain more understanding on the source of the inclusions found in the glass products, a detailed inspection of the refractory materials is essential. Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) combined with Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDX, or EDS) provides insight into the interface reactions between the furnace walls and the glass.

SEM-EDS mapping of the various phases present at the Refractory / glass interface

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.