玻璃缺陷分析

玻璃缺陷的定义:“玻璃缺陷是具有不同光学和/或其他特性的玻璃物体中的外壳”

玻璃缺陷或缺陷是玻璃生产过程固有的。 玻璃熔化是一个复杂的过程,通常不可能为“平滑”玻璃熔化创造理想的条件。 技术人员必须处理几个问题,例如原材料,“奇怪的”碎玻璃,耐火腐蚀(即玻璃罐所组成的材料的降解)等等。 玻璃缺陷可能来自许多不同的来源,例如熔化过程中的干扰,失透或耐火材料的腐蚀。 为了识别玻璃缺陷的来源,可以使用多种检查技术。 结合操作数据对缺陷进行分析对于减少或消除缺陷数量可能很有价值。

分析程序图

缺陷分类; 系统的方法

可以通过用眼睛,放大镜或显微镜分析缺陷来对缺陷进行第一分类。
如果这还不够,可以为更高级的分析技术准备玻璃缺陷。 这些技术提供了其他信息,例如缺陷的化学成分或晶体结构。 在将这些信息与操作数据和数据表相结合的同时,可以对玻璃生产过程进行调整,从而最终减少或消除玻璃缺陷的来源。 上图总结了典型的分析程序。

玻璃缺陷检查技术

眼睛/放大镜或放大镜

肉眼和放大镜是可以观察缺陷类型的第一步:夹杂物(例如,石头,绳索),裂缝或气泡。 在包含夹杂物的情况下,可以调查缺陷,形状,颜色,不透明性或透明度周围的不均匀程度。 所有这些观察结果为玻璃缺陷的分类提供了有用的基础。 通常应采用其他分析技术来确定故障源。

偏振光镜

由于周围缺陷的不均匀性或热膨胀差异,会在玻璃中形成应力。 可以使用偏光镜使这些应力可见。 由于这些应力的高度和迹象取决于不均匀性的性质,因此可以提供有关其组成和/或起源的一些信息。

使用透射/偏振光的显微镜

光学显微镜可用于检查透明缺陷。 通过使用偏振光,由绳索和晶体引起的相位差会突然出现。 晶体,结构,形状,应力和尺寸可提供有关玻璃缺陷的成分和可能成因的重要信息。

玻璃缺陷的元素和化学分析

如分析程序图所示,光学检查之后的下一步可以是另一项研究,以研究固体夹杂物,气泡或均匀分布的掺杂剂的组成。 EAG有大量技术可以解决此问题。 >>阅读更多

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Glass defect analysis

Definition of a glass defect:  “A glass defect is an enclosure in a glass object with different optical and/or other properties”

Glass faults or defects are inherent to the glass production process. Glass melting is a complex process and it is often impossible to create the ideal conditions for “smooth” glass melting. Technologists have to cope with several issues, like raw materials, “strange” cullet, refractory corrosion (i.e. degradation of the materials the glass tank is composed of), and much more. A glass defect can originate from many different sources like disturbances in the melting process, devitrification or corrosion of refractory material. In order to identify the source of a glass defect, a broad range of inspection techniques can be used. Analysis of the defects in combination with operational data can be valuable to decrease or eliminate the number of defects.

Diagram of analysis routines

Classification of defects; a systematic approach

A first classification of defects can be made by analyzing the defect by eye, magnifier or microscope.
When this is insufficient, glass defects can be prepared for more advanced analytical techniques. These techniques provide additional information like chemical composition or crystalline structure of the defect. While combining this information with operational data and data sheets, adjustments to the glass production process can be made which will eventually reduce or eliminate the source of glass defects. The figure above summarizes a typical analysis routine.

Inspection techniques for glass defects

Eye / magnifying glass or loupe

The naked eye and a magnifier are the first steps that allow observation of the type of defect: inclusion (i.e. stone, cords), crack or bubbles. In case of an inclusion, the degree of inhomogeneity around a defect, shape, color, opacity or transparency of a stone can be investigated. All these observations are a useful basis for classification of a glass fault. Other analytical techniques should often be applied to determine the origin of the fault.

Polariscope

Stresses are built up in the glass due to inhomogeneity surrounding defects or difference in thermal expansion. Those stresses can be made visible using a polariscope. As altitude and sign of these stresses depend on the nature of the inhomogeneity, it can provide some information on its composition and/or origin.

Microscope using transmitted /polarized light

The optical microscope is useful to examine transparent defects. By using polarized light, phase differences caused by cords and crystals pop up. Crystals, structure, shape, stress and size give important information about the composition and possible origin of a glass fault.

Elemental and chemical analysis of defects in glass

As indicated in the diagram of analysis routines, the next step after optical inspection can be an additional study to investigate the composition of solid inclusions, gas bubbles or homogeneously distributed dopant. EAG has a large portfolio of techniques to address this. >>Read more

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.