玻璃的物理性质

通用钠玻璃的粘度与温度曲线

粘性

粘度是优化玻璃加工的最重要参数之一。 因此,重要的是了解玻璃的粘度温度关系。 测量粘度很简单:在玻璃样品上施加力,测量所得的速度梯度,然后计算粘度。

几种特定的粘度已被指定为常见实际使用的参考点。

可以在粘度等于2.0 dPas的熔点下获得均匀的熔体。 工作点是将熔体输送至成型设备的粘度,通常约为4.0 dPas。 软化点是可以防止玻璃在其自身重量下在典型的玻璃工作时间范围(相当于7.6 dPas)下变形的最小粘度。 工作点和软化点之间的温度范围定义为工作范围。 在形成玻璃之后,需要通过退火来消除由玻璃形成过程引起的内应力。 退火点(13.0 dPas)定义为在几分钟内应力基本消除的温度,而在应变点(14.5 dPas)下,应力在数小时内释放。

钠钙玻璃的典型粘度温度曲线包含特征粘度点,如上图所示。

实际上,没有一种分析方法能够测量整个粘度范围和/或整个温度范围。 为了完全涵盖此范围,可以使用三种方法(如下所示):

  • 纤维伸长法用于高粘度范围。 纤维的伸长速度是在不同温度和不同重量下确定的。 粘度由伸长速度算出。
  • 已经证明,束弯曲法在测量中部区域石英玻璃的粘度方面具有重要价值。 在不同的温度和不同的重量下确定梁的弯曲速度。 由弯曲速度算出粘度。
  • 旋转法适用于低粘度范围。 在不同温度下测量浸没在装有玻璃的杯子中的旋转吊钩的剪切应力和剪切速率。 由剪切应力和剪切速率计算粘度。

精度优于2°C,并且精度使用适当的参考材料进行了调整。 为了获得准确和精确的结果,样品中的温度梯度应保持尽可能低。

粘度分析的三种互补方法的测量原理(LVDT:线性可变位移传感器)

热膨胀行为和应力

通常,玻璃零件必须与其他玻璃或什至完全不同的材料(例如金属或陶瓷)结合在一起以形成最终产品。 非常重要的是要使所涉及材料的热膨胀性能良好匹配。 可以使用双石英差示膨胀计精确测量热膨胀系数。 该实验装置测量样品的伸长率随温度的变化。 下图显示了所得膨胀系数随温度变化的示例。

另外,可以使用所谓的应变平板法来测量玻璃中的应力。 使用预定的温度程序将目标样品和标准玻璃密封在一起,并在烤箱中冷却。 两个玻璃之间的热膨胀差异将在密封区域产生应力。 可以通过使用偏振显微镜测量光学双折射效应来量化应力。

膨胀系数与钠玻璃温度的关系

电阻

在某些应用中,低于转变温度的玻璃比电阻很重要。 例如,在高压应用中,对于低泄漏电流需要高电阻率。 图中显示了作为温度函数的电阻率(ρ)的示例。 可以在105 – 1012Ωcm范围内以高精确度测量比电阻。

电阻率(ρ)与屏幕显示参考玻璃的温度的关系

光学性质

在许多应用中,玻璃的光学性能很重要。 可以在整个UV / VIS / NIR / IR波长范围(175 nm – 16000 nm)内测量玻璃和成品的透射和反射特性。 随波长变化的光透射示例如下所示。

透光率与琥珀色玻璃的波长有关

透射率测量可用于确定铁2+/铁3+ 比率和石英玻璃中的水(β-OH)浓度。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Physical properties of glass

Viscosity vs Temperature curve of a general-purpose soda glass

Viscosity

Viscosity is one of the most important parameters for optimized glass processing. Therefore, it is important to know the viscosity temperature relationship of a glass. Measuring the viscosity is straightforward: a force is applied on the glass sample, the resulting velocity gradient is measured, and the viscosity is calculated.

Several specific viscosities have been designated as reference points for common practical use.

A homogeneous melt can be obtained at the melting point, where viscosity equals 2.0 dPas. The working point is the viscosity at which a melt is delivered to a forming device, typically around 4.0 dPas. The softening point is the minimum viscosity that can prevent the glass from deforming under its own weight on a typical glass working time scale, which corresponds to 7.6 dPas. The temperature range between the working point and the softening point is defined as the working range. After the glass is formed, the internal stresses which result from the glass forming process need to be released by annealing. The annealing point (13.0 dPas) is defined as the temperature where stress is substantially relieved within a few minutes, whereas at the strain point (14.5 dPas) the stress release is achieved within several hours.

A typical viscosity temperature curve for a soda lime glass, containing the characteristic viscosity points, is shown in the Figure above.

In practice, no single analytical method is capable of measuring the full range of viscosities and/or the entire temperature range. To fully cover this range three methods are available (as illustrated below):

  • The fiber elongation method is used for the high viscosity range. The elongation speed of a fiber is determined at different temperatures and using different weights. The viscosity is calculated from the elongation speed.
  • The beam-bending method has proven to be of great value in measuring viscosities of quartz glasses in the middle region. The bending speed of a beam is determined at different temperatures and using different weights. The viscosity is calculated from the bending speed.
  • A rotation method is applied for the low viscosity range. The shear stress and shear rate of a rotating bob immersed in a cup filled with glass are measured at different temperatures. The viscosity is calculated from the shear stress and shear rate.

The precision is better than 2°C and the accuracy is tuned using appropriate reference materials. To realize accurate and precise results, the temperature gradients in the sample are kept as low as possible.

Measurement principles of three complementary methods for viscosity analysis (LVDT: Linear Variable Displacement Transducer)

Thermal expansion behavior and stress

Often glass parts have to be joined with other glasses or even completely different materials (e.g. metals or ceramics) to form the final product. It is of great importance that the thermal expansion behavior of the materials involved are well matched. Thermal expansion coefficients can be accurately measured using a double quartz differential dilatometer. This experimental set-up measures the elongation of a sample as a function of temperature. An example of the resulting expansion coefficient as a function of temperature is shown in the Figure below.

In addition, stress in glass can be measured using the so-called strain slab method. The sample of interest and a standard glass are sealed together and cooled in an oven, using a predefined temperature program. A difference in thermal expansion between the two glasses will yield stress in the seal region. The stress can be quantified by measuring an optical birefringence effect with a polarization microscope.

Expansion coefficient as a function of temperature of a soda glass

Electrical resistance

In some applications the specific electrical resistance of the glass below the transformation temperature is important. In high voltage applications, for example, a high electric resistivity is required for low leakage currents. An example of the specific resistance (ρ) as a function of temperature is shown in the Figure. Specific resistances can be measured in the range of 105 – 1012 Ωcm with high precision and accuracy.

Specific resistance (ρ) as a function of temperature of a screen display reference glass

Optical properties

In many applications the optical properties of glass are important. Transmission and reflection properties of glass and finished products can be measured over the entire UV/VIS/NIR/IR wavelength region (175 nm – 16000 nm). An example of light transmission as a function of wavelength is shown below.

Light transmission as a function of wavelength of an amber colored glass

Transmission measurements can be used to determine the Fe2+/ Fe3+ ratio in glass and the water (β-OH) concentration in quartz glass.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.