X射线衍射(XRD)服务

技术说明

典型数据

XRD 在许多样品类型和材料中具有非常广泛的应用。 有关更具体的示例,请参阅我们的XRD应用说明。 典型的XRD应用是阶段ID。 下面显示的是来自TiO的衍射图案2 样品。 XRD结果表明样品含有TiO 2的金红石相(31.4%)和锐钛矿相(68.6%)2. 成分 结果将(理想地)显示O:Ti的2:1比率,但这些不同的TiO相2 具有不同的物理和电子特性,因此知道哪个阶段存在是至关重要的。

金红石和锐钛矿混合物

氧化钛(TiO2)的XRD相分析。 TiO2由31.4%金红石相和68.6%锐钛矿相组成。

氧化钛(TiO)的XRD相分析2)。 TiO2 由31.4%金红石和68.6%锐钛矿相组成。

原则

在XRD分析中,将样品暴露于特定已知波长的准直X射线束。 如果材料是结晶的,则它具有三维有序或“结构”,具有原子排列的重复单元(单元电池)。 X射线被晶体材料的重复晶格间距衍射,而它们仅由非晶材料散射。 X射线衍射相对于布拉格定律定义的晶格间距以特定角度(2θ)发生:

nλ=2dsinθ

其中n是表示反射次序的整数,λ是X射线波长,d是感兴趣的晶面的晶格间距,θ是衍射角。 晶格间距的任何变化或差异都会导致衍射线的相应偏移。 因此,X射线衍射图案是给定材料中周期性原子排列的指纹。 可以针对来自已知材料的大型图案库检查衍射图案,以便识别/量化样品中存在的相。

常见的应用程序

虽然大多数其他分析技术倾向于提供元素或分子信息,但XRD提供结晶信息,从而产生许多独特的应用,包括:

  • 结晶相的鉴定/定量
  • 测量平均微晶尺寸,应变或微应变效应
  • 百分之 结晶 与无定形组分
  • 纹理(取向):微晶的优选取向
  • 确定晶格参数以量化合金含量
  • 残余应力 - 晶格压缩或膨胀高分辨率XRD(HRXRD) - 外延层组成,应变进/出平面
  • SAXS - 小角度X射线散射,用于聚集粒径和间距
  • 高温X射线衍射 - 原位相变测量

优势

  • 提供有关结晶材料的丰富独特信息
  • 使用放牧入射-XRD对大量材料(50μm-1cm深度)或仅近表面(50-1000nm)进行取样
  • 能够唯一地识别特定的晶相
  • 可以测量晶格间距
  • 可以分析最大300mm的完整晶圆
  • 最低或无样品制备要求
  • 非破坏性,使用环境条件进行所有分析

限制

  • 典型检测限~1%
  • 无法识别无定形组件
  • 关于深度的有限信息(无深度剖面,但放牧入射-XRD可用于增加薄层的灵敏度)
  • 最小光斑尺寸为~30μm

技术比较

XRD是批量分析技术的良好补充,如 辉光放电质谱, 电感耦合等离子体发射光谱 (或质谱),和 X射线荧光。 虽然这些其他技术提供了成分信息,但XRD提供了结晶信息,有助于提供更完整的材料表征。 应当注意,XRD本身不能提供明确的组成信息,因为样品可能具有无法通过XRD识别的无定形组分。 当与用于薄膜分析的其他技术结合时,XRD可以非常强大,例如 卢瑟福背散射光谱学, 以及 X射线光电子能谱。 XRD可以提供相,取向和其他结晶信息,以补充来自RBS,Auger或XPS的组成结果。 除了掠入射(GI-XRD)用于增强该技术的表面敏感性之外,XRD倾向于比这些技术更深地探测,提供更多的体积信息。

XRD在EAG

EAG在我们的实验室网络中有五个XRD系统。 我们的三台仪器配备了光学模块,可根据分析要求轻松更换。 这使我们能够提供粉末,涂层,薄膜,浆料,制造零件的高质量分析,甚至外延薄膜的高分辨率分析。 两个系统具有微束X射线源,允许分析非常小的样本或特定位置。 这些工具还具有区域检测器,可进行完整的纹理分析。

商品描述

X射线衍射(XRD)是一种用于表征结晶材料的强大的非破坏性技术。 虽然大多数其他分析技术提供样品的元素或分子信息,但XRD在提供有关结构,晶相,优选晶体取向(纹理)和其他结构参数(如微晶尺寸,结晶度百分比,应变)的各种信息方面是独一无二的。 ,压力和晶体缺陷。

XRD图标

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

X-ray Diffraction (XRD) Services

TECHNIQUE NOTE

TYPICAL DATA

XRD has a very wide range of applications, across many sample types and materials. Please see our XRD application notes for more specific examples. A typical XRD application is phase-ID. Shown below is the diffraction pattern from a TiO2 sample. The XRD results show that the sample contains both the Rutile (31.4%) and Anatase (68.6%) phases of TiO2. Compositional results would (ideally) show a 2:1 ratio of O:Ti, but these different phases of TiO2 have different physical and electronic properties so knowing which phase is present can be crucial.

Rutile and Anatase blend

XRD Phase Analysis of titanium oxide (TiO2). The TiO2 consists of 31.4% Rutile and 68.6% Anatase phases.

XRD Phase Analysis of titanium oxide (TiO2). The TiO2 consists of 31.4% Rutile and 68.6% Anatase phases.

PRINCIPLES

In XRD analysis a sample is exposed to a collimated X-ray beam of specific known wavelength. If the material is crystalline, it possesses a three dimensional ordering or “structure” with repeat units of atomic arrangement (unit cells). X-rays are diffracted by the repeating lattice spacings of crystalline materials, whereas they are simply scattered by amorphous materials. X-ray diffraction occurs at specific angles (2θ) with respect to the lattice spacings defined by Bragg’s Law:

nλ = 2d sinθ

where n is an integer denoting the order of the reflection, λ is the X-ray wavelength, d is the lattice spacing of the crystal planes of interest, and θ is the diffraction angle. Any change or difference in lattice spacing results in a corresponding shift in the diffraction lines. Consequently, the X-ray diffraction pattern is the fingerprint of periodic atomic arrangements in a given material. Diffraction patterns can be checked against large libraries of patterns from known materials in order to identify/quantify the phases present in a sample.

COMMON APPLICATIONS

While most other analytical techniques tend to provide elemental or molecular information, XRD provides crystalline information, resulting in many unique applications including:

  • Identification/quantification of crystalline phase
  • Measurement of average crystallite size, strain, or micro-strain effects
  • Percent crystallinity versus amorphous component
  • Texture (orientation): preferred orientation of crystallites
  • Determination of lattice parameters to quantify alloy content
  • Residual Stress – lattice compression or expansion High Resolution XRD (HRXRD) – Epitaxial layer composition, strain in/out of plane
  • SAXS – Small Angle X-ray Scattering for agglomerated particle size and spacing
  • High Temperature X-ray Diffraction – in-situ phase change measurement

STRENGTHS

  • Provides a wealth of unique information about crystalline materials
  • Sample the bulk of material (50µm-1cm depth), or near surface only (50-1000nm) using Grazing Incidence-XRD
  • Able to uniquely identify specific crystalline phases
  • Can measure lattice spacing
  • Can analyze full wafers up to 300mm
  • Minimal or no sample preparation requirements
  • Non destructive, using ambient conditions for all analyses

LIMITATIONS

  • Typical detection limit ~1%
  • Cannot identify amorphous components
  • Limited information with respect to depth (no depth profile, but Grazing Incidence-XRD can be used to increase sensitivity for thin layers)
  • Smallest spot size is ~30µm

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

XRD is a good complement to bulk analysis techniques such as Glow Discharge Mass Spectrometry, Inductively Coupled Plasma-Optical Emission Spectroscopy (or Mass Spectrometry), and X-ray Fluorescence. While these other techniques provide compositional information, XRD provides crystalline information helping to provide a more complete characterization of the material. It should be noted that by itself XRD cannot provide unequivocal compositional information because it is possible that a sample may have an amorphous component that cannot be identified by XRD. XRD can be quite powerful when combined with other techniques used for thin film analysis, such as Rutherford Backscattering Spectroscopy, Auger and X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy. XRD can provide phase, orientation, and other crystalline information to complement the compositional results from RBS, Auger, or XPS. XRD tends to probe much deeper than these techniques, providing more bulk information unless grazing incidence (GI-XRD) is used to enhance the surface sensitivity of the technique.

XRD AT EAG

EAG has five XRD systems located within our network of labs. Three of our instruments are equipped with optical modules that can be easily exchanged depending on the analysis requirement. This allows us to provide high quality analysis of powders, coatings, thin films, slurries, fabricated parts, or even high-resolution analysis of epitaxial films. Two systems have microbeam X-ray sources, allowing for the analysis of very small samples or specific locations. These tools also have area detectors allowing for complete texture analyses.

DESCRIPTION

X-ray Diffraction (XRD) is a powerful nondestructive technique for characterizing crystalline materials. While most other analytical techniques provide elemental or molecular information from a sample, XRD is unique in providing a wide variety of information on structures, crystalline phases, preferred crystal orientations (texture), and other structural parameters such as crystallite size, percent crystallinity, strain, stress, and crystal defects.

XRD Icon

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.