色素隐形眼镜

应用笔记

Jim Gibson,Lori LaVanier和Sasha Rodnyansky

近年来,隐形眼镜市场已经扩展了其最初的视力矫正目标,不再包括具有装饰性的产品。 这种产品的例子之一是装饰性软性隐形眼镜(DSCL),也称为有色或有色隐形眼镜。 着色的镜片以不同的样式,颜色和图案出现,使用不同类型的颜料,并且可以在有或没有处方的情况下使用。 颜料的位置和分布对制造商和消费者都很重要。 研究表明,隐形眼镜表面存在色素可能会引起炎症,并对实际眼睛表面构成危险1。 已应用各种分析方法来评估装饰性软性隐形眼镜(DSCL)中颜料的位置和深度分布2.

在这项研究中,使用Eurofins EAG实验室提供的多种技术方法对市售的有色隐形眼镜(图1a)的表面和体积进行了表征。 该研究包括光学成像,BSE(背向散射电子)横截面成像,XPS深度轮廓分析和TOF-SIMS离子成像,提供了有关颜料表面曝光和深度分布的有用信息。

在分析之前,晶状体的成分是未知的。 TOF-SIMS检查是在镜片的掠角截面上进行的(图1b)。 掠角拓宽了表面特征,可进行更详细的分析。 HEMA(甲基丙烯酸羟乙酯)被确定为镜片的基础材料,其近表面具有两种颜料成分,即Fe氧化物和Ti氧化物,以颗粒状分布(图2)。

法向角横截面的BSE(背向散射电子)图像(图3)有助于可视化颜料的空间分布,这些颜料以不同大小的颗粒形式存在,并以不同深度分布在不同位置。 从BSE图像获得的颜料的深度分布范围约为0.4μm至7.6μm。

XPS分析开始于靠近镜片圆周的最暗圆圈的外表面。 在表面调查光谱中仅检测到碳,氮,氧和硅,而未观察到痕量的颜料成分(图4)。 XPS深度剖面使用C进行60 离子枪可最大程度地减少溅射过程中对有机材料的损坏。 剖面表明,Fe氧化物颜料的浓度比Ti氧化物颜料的浓度高得多(图5a)。 另外,直到比Fe氧化物深得多时,才观察到Ti氧化物信号(图5b)。 两者均发现在有机层下面,没有任何表面暴露。

总之,分析方法的组合表明,所检查的着色镜片含有多数Fe氧化物和少数Ti氧化物颜料,这些颜料以颗粒形式存在,分布在较宽的深度和横向范围内,但是,颜料颗粒并未暴露在镜头 因此,它们不太可能对眼睛或周围组织造成磨损。

图1a。 该光学图像显示了本研究中检查的镜片的俯视图。 红色箭头指示使用带金刚石刀片的冷冻切片机将镜片剖开以进行SEM分析的位置。

图1b。  光学图像中的红色框显示了TOF-SIMS分析的位置。

图2。 掠角透镜部分的TOF-SIMS成像显示氧化铁颜料(红色),氧化钛颜料(绿色)分布和HEMA(甲基丙烯酸羟乙酯)透镜材料(蓝色)。 镜片表面的色素信号不明显。

图3。  垂直角透镜横截面的BSE(背向散射电子)图像(图像的凸面位于图像的左侧)显示Fe氧化物和Ti氧化物颜料的亮区达到了7.74 µm的深度。

图4。 XPS测量暗环上方外表面的光谱。 没有观察到颜料特异性物质。

图5a。 XPS深度剖析显示颜料未在紧邻表面暴露,并且氧化铁颜料的浓度远高于氧化钛。 透镜材料中最丰富的元素C并未显示出来,以便关注浓度较低的元素的分布。

图5b。 XPS深度轮廓的放大图显示,氧化钛颜料比氧化铁颜料更远离表面分布。

参考文献:

  1. Jung JW等。 眼表有色隐形眼镜中颜料位置的影响。 Optom Vis Sci。 2016年93月; 8(997):第 1003-XNUMX。
  2. 野村裕介等。 装饰性软性隐形眼镜的颜料分布评估和深度分析方法。 眼睛和隐形眼镜:2018年44月–第105卷–第112期–第XNUMX页。 SXNUMX–SXNUMX

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Pigmented contact lens

APPLICATION NOTE

By Jim Gibson, Lori LaVanier, and Sasha Rodnyansky

In recent years, the contact lens market has expanded beyond its original goal of vision correction to include products with decorative qualities. One of the examples of such products are Decorative Soft Contact Lenses (DSCLs), also referred to as Pigmented or Tinted Contact Lenses. The pigmented lenses appear in different styles, colors, and patterns, utilize different types of pigments, and are available with or without prescription. Location and distribution of the pigments are of importance to both manufacturers and consumers. Studies have shown that the presence of pigments on the surface of the contact lens may cause inflammation and pose risks to the actual surface of the eye1. Various analytical methods have been applied to evaluate pigment location and depth distribution in decorative soft contact lenses (DSCLs)2.

In this study, the surface and bulk of a commercially obtained pigmented contact lens (Fig. 1a) were characterized using the multi-technique approach available at Eurofins EAG Laboratories. The study, which included optical imaging, BSE (backscattered electron) cross-sectional imaging, XPS Depth profiling, and TOF-SIMS ion imaging, provided useful information on the pigment surface exposure and depth distribution.

The composition of the lens was unknown prior to the analysis.  TOF-SIMS examination was performed on a grazing angle cross-section of the lens (Fig. 1b). The grazing angle broadened surface features for a more detailed analysis.   HEMA (hydroxyethylmethacrylate) was identified as the base material of the lens and the near surface had two pigment components, Fe oxide and Ti oxide, distributed as particulate (Fig. 2).

The BSE (backscattered electron) image (Fig. 3) of the normal angle cross-section helped to visualize the spatial distribution of pigments, present as particles of different sizes and distributed at various depths in different locations. The range of depth distribution of pigments obtained from the BSE image was approximately from 0.4µm to 7.6µm.

The XPS analysis was started on the outer surface of the darkest circle near the circumference of the lens. Only carbon, nitrogen, oxygen, and silicon were detected in the surface survey spectrum, while no trace of pigment components were observed (Fig. 4).  The XPS depth profile was carried out using a C60 ion gun to minimize damage to organic materials during sputtering. The profile showed that the Fe oxide pigment was present at much higher concentration than the Ti oxide one (Fig. 5a). Additionally, the Ti oxide signal was not observed until much deeper than the Fe oxide (Fig.5b). Both were found underneath the organic layer without any surface exposure.

In conclusion, a combination of analytical methods showed that the examined pigmented lens contained majority Fe oxide and minority Ti oxide pigments present in the form of particles distributed over a wide depth and lateral range, however, the pigment particulates were not exposed at the surface of the lens; therefore, they were not likely to cause abrasive damage to the eye or surrounding tissue.

Figure 1a. This optical image shows the top view of a lens examined in this study.  The red arrow indicates where the lens was sectioned for SEM analysis using a cryo-microtome with a diamond blade.

Figure 1b.  The red box in this optical image shows the location of the TOF-SIMS analysis.

Figure 2. TOF-SIMS imaging of the grazing angle lens section shows the Fe oxide pigment (red), Ti oxide pigment (green) distribution and the HEMA (hydroxyethylmethacrylate) lens material (blue).  Pigment signal at the surface of the lens was not evident.

Figure 3.  The BSE (backscattered electron) image of the normal angle lens cross-section (with the convex surface on the left side of the image) shows bright areas of Fe oxide and Ti oxide pigments reaching depths to 7.74 µm.

Figure 4. XPS survey spectrum of outer surface above the dark ring. No pigment specific species were observed.

Figure 5a. XPS depth profiling shows the pigments are not exposed at the immediate surface, and the concentration of Fe oxide pigment is much higher than that of Ti oxide. The most abundant element of the lens material, C, is not shown in order to focus on the distribution of elements with lower concentrations.

Figure 5b. The zoomed-in view of the XPS depth profile shows that Ti oxide pigment was distributed further from the surface than the Fe oxide.

REFERENCES

  1. Jung JW et al. Effects of Pigment Location in Tinted Contact Lenses on the Ocular Surface. Optom Vis Sci. 2016 Aug; 93(8): p. 997-1003.
  2. Nomura, Yusuke et al. Evaluation of Pigment Distribution and Depth Analysis Methods for Decorative Soft Contact Lenses. Eye & Contact Lens: November 2018 – Volume 44 – Issue – p. S105–S112

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.