医疗器械包装粘连失效的根本原因确定

应用笔记

引言

A 医疗装置 无菌包装在聚乙烯 - 乙烯丙烯酸(共聚物)热封到聚乙烯时经历粘合失效。 如果未被发现,这些类型的失败可能导致无菌性丧失并导致对患者的严重伤害。 粘附失败通常是化学性质的,并且可能由非常低的水平引起 表面污染物。 研究聚合物表面化学的两种最常用的分析技术是 X射线光电子能谱(XPS) 以及 飞行时间二次离子质谱(TOF-SIMS).

XPS是一种定量技术,能够检测元素并获得有关最近邻化学键的信息。 XPS的采样深度是 ~5-10 nm。 TOF-SIMS提供样品顶部1 nm中元素和分子的高质量分辨率图。 TOF对于识别表面上的有机化合物非常有用。

在粘附失败的研究中,希望检查配合侧,因为污染物可以优先转移到一个表面。 该方法还可以帮助确认在含有透明材料的多层层压材料中并非总是直截了当的失效位置。 示出了层压板的示意图,其具有故障路径。

图1 PE-EAA示意图 -  PE层压板显示故障位置。

图1 PE-EAA-PE层压板的示意图显示了失效位置。

结果与讨论

以3%加入乙烯丙烯酸(EAA)以改善粘合性并降低聚乙烯(PE)的结晶度。 使用XPS和TOF-SIMS检查好的和坏的热封表面。 XPS在表面上仅发现碳和氧,尽管包含失效的热封表面 ~氧气比表面好60%(表1)。 高分辨率碳谱覆盖在图2中。 插图确认存在-CH2 两个表面上都有少量的OC = O. 预计OC = O来自丙烯酸。 如果我们假设所有氧气都来自EAA,则良好的热封包含预期的3%EAA量,但Bad热封包含更接近5%EAA。 还有第二种可能性来解释失效表面上的过量氧:可能存在含有-CH的污染物2 和OC = O种。 为了理清这两种可能性,我们转向TOF-SIMS,它能够检测和识别表面上的有机分子。

图2高分辨率光电发射光谱表示良好和不良的热封表面。 插图显示EAA预期的弱OC = O.

图2 热封表面良好和不良的高分辨率光电发射光谱。 插图显示EAA预期的弱OC = O.

表1 XPS来自良好和不良热封。

表1 XPS由良好和不良热封产生。

两个表面都含有指示PE的离子(C.2H3,C3H5,C4H7等)和EAA(CH3O,C2H5O等)。 然而,Bad热封还含有羟基氢化肉桂酸酯化合物的强峰特征(图3)。 这些化合物是Irganox®品牌下常见的抗氧化剂。 图3显示了Irganox®1010的分子,这是一种常见的羟基氢化肉桂酸酯化合物。 在良好热封表面上观察到弱的羟基氢化肉桂酸峰,强度大致为1 / 3。

图3良好(较低)和较差(较高)热封的正离子质谱图显示,在219,233和259 amu处有较强的羟基氢化肉桂酸离子用于不良密封。

图3 良好(较低)和较差(较高)热封的正离子质谱显示在219,233和259 amu处的较强的羟基氢化肉桂酸根离子用于不良密封。

图4 Irganox 1010分子。

图4 Irganox 1010分子。

概要

XPS能够在好的和坏的表面上识别出烷基碳和弱的OC = O带。 定量结果表明,在坏表面上存在升高的EAA水平,或者可能存在酸或含酯的污染物。 TOF-SIMS的分子特异性最终表明,过量的氧不是来自EAA,而是来自热封表面上抗氧化剂水平的升高。 结论是,这是粘附失败的根本原因。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Root Cause Determination of Adhesion Failure in Medical Device Packaging

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

A medical device sterile package experienced adhesive failure at a polyethylene-ethylene acrylic acid (co-polymer) heat seal to polyethylene. If undetected, these types of failures can lead to loss of sterility and result in serious harm to patients. Adhesion failures are frequently chemical in nature and can be caused by very low levels of surface contaminants. The two most common analytical techniques to investigate surface chemistry on polymers are X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS) and Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (TOF-SIMS).

XPS is a quantitative technique able to both detect elements and obtain information regarding nearest neighbor chemical bonding. The sampling depth of XPS is ~5-10 nm. TOF-SIMS provides high mass resolution maps of elements and molecules in the top 1 nm of a sample. TOF can be invaluable for identifying organic compounds on surfaces.

In investigations of adhesion failures it is desirable to examine mating sides since the contaminants may preferentially transfer to one surface. This approach can also help confirm the locus of failure which is not always straightforward in multilayer laminates containing transparent materials. A schematic of the laminate is shown with the failure path.

Figure 1 Schematic of PE-EAA – PE laminate showing failure location.
Figure 1 Schematic of PE-EAA – PE laminate showing failure location.

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION

Ethylene acrylic acid (EAA) was added at 3% to improve the adhesion and lower the crystallinity of the polyethylene (PE). Good and bad heat seal surfaces were examined using XPS and TOF-SIMS. XPS found only carbon and oxygen on the surfaces, although the failed heat seal surface contained ~60% more oxygen than the good surface (Table 1). The high resolution carbon spectra are overlaid in Figure 2. The inset confirms the presence of a –CH2 and a small amount of O-C=O on both surfaces. The O-C=O is expected from the acrylic acid. If we assume that all the oxygen comes from EAA, the Good heat seal contains the expected 3% amount of EAA, but the Bad heat seal contains closer to 5% EAA. There is a second possibility to explain the excess oxygen on the failed surface: there could be a contaminant that also contains -CH2 and O-C=O species. To sort out these two possibilities, we turned to TOF-SIMS with its ability to detect and identify organic molecules on surfaces.

Figure 2 High resolution photoemission spectra of good and bad heat seal surface. Inset shows weak O-C=O expected for EAA.
Figure 2 High resolution photoemission spectra of good and bad heat seal surface. Inset shows weak O-C=O expected for EAA.

Table 1 XPS results from Good and Bad Heat Seal.
Table 1 XPS results from Good and Bad Heat Seal.

Both surfaces contained ions indicative of PE (C2H3, C3H5, C4H7, etc.) and EAA (CH3O, C2H5O, etc.). However, the Bad heat seal also contained intense peaks characteristic of a hydroxyhydrocinnamate compound (Figure 3). Such compounds are common antioxidants under the Irganox® brand. Figure 3 shows the molecule for Irganox® 1010, one of the common hydroxyhydrocinnamate compounds. Weak hydroxyhydrocinnamate peaks were observed on the Good heat seal surface at roughly 1/3 the intensity.

Figure 3 Positive ion mass spectra for good (lower) and bad (upper) heat seal showing more intense hydroxyhydrocinnamate ions at 219, 233 and 259 amu for the bad seal.
Figure 3 Positive ion mass spectra for good (lower) and bad (upper) heat seal showing more intense hydroxyhydrocinnamate ions at 219, 233 and 259 amu for the bad seal.

Figure 4 Irganox 1010 molecule.
Figure 4 Irganox 1010 molecule.

SUMMARY

XPS was able to identify an alkyl carbon and a weak O-C=O band on both good and bad surfaces. Quantitative results suggested either the presence of elevated EAA levels on the bad surface or possibly a acid or ester-containing contaminant. The molecular specificity of TOF-SIMS conclusively showed that the excess oxygen did not come from EAA, but from elevated levels of an antioxidant on the heat seal surface. It was concluded that this was the root cause of the adhesion failure.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.