二次离子质谱(SIMS)服务

技术说明

二次离子质谱(SIMS)是一种分析技术,可检测极低浓度的掺杂剂和杂质。 它可以在几纳米到几十微米的深度范围内提供元素深度分布。 SIMS通过用聚焦的初级离子束溅射样品表面来工作。 在溅射期间形成的二次离子被提取并使用质谱仪分析。 这些二次离子的范围可从基质水平降至十亿分之一(ppba)水平。

典型数据

SIMS服务,EAG实验室的典型数据

Si中B,P和As注入标准的概况。 这些标准使用NIST SRM进行校准。 SIMS档案 提供准确的掺杂浓度与深度,具有出色的检测灵敏度和动态范围。

SIMS服务,来自EAG实验室的数据

化合物(III-V) 半导体器件 表征,完成组成和掺杂剂/杂质浓度定量。 该配置文件针对C和O杂质检测进行了优化,并具有良好的深度分辨率。

原则

在SIMS分析过程中,样品被聚焦的高能主离子束(100 eV – 15 keV)溅射,或者是氧气(O2+)或铯(Cs+)。 在溅射过程中,一部分溅射材料被电离。 从表面提取这些二次离子,基于各个元素的独特质荷比进行质量分析,并作为二次离子强度收集。 由于元素周期表中的每个元素(和同位素)都具有独特的质荷比,因此该技术可以检测周期表中的每个元素。 可以基于参考标准的分析将二次离子强度转换成浓度。 通过连续监测离子,可以将浓度确定为样品深度的函数,对真正的深度分布具有最小的失真并且具有非常高的灵敏度(ppma至ppba)。

常见的应用程序

极高的灵敏度和深度剖面能力使SIMS非常适合 特征 半导体和其他薄膜材料。 选定的申请包括以下内容:

  • 掺杂和杂质深度剖析
  • 薄膜(SiGe,III-V和II-VI)的成分和杂质测量
  • 浅植入物和超薄膜(ULE植入物和栅极氧化物)的超高分辨率解析度
  • 批量分析,包括Si中的B,C,O和N.
  • 工艺工具(离子注入机)的高精度匹配
  • 污染物 薄膜型材(金属,dieletric)
  • 薄膜层结构
  • 界面污染物配置文件

优势

  • 对掺杂剂和杂质具有出色的检测灵敏度,对大多数元素具有ppma或更低的检测灵敏度
  • 深度剖面具有出色的检测极限和深度分辨率
  • 小面积分析(10μm或更大)
  • 检测所有元素和同位素,包括H.
  • 出色的动态范围(高达7数量级)
  • 在某些应用中,主要元素组成可能

限制

  • 准确量化所需的标准
  • 特定元素(不是调查技术)
  • 没有化​​学键合信息
  • 有害

技术比较

可以确定组成深度剖面的其他表面分析技术包括 X射线光电子能谱(XPS)俄歇电子能谱。 两者检测灵敏度都很差(~0.1%)与SIMS相比。 辉光放电质谱(GDMS) 具有良好的灵敏度,但它主要是一种批量技术。 飞行时间SIMS 以与SIMS相同的基本原理运行,但实验通常仅限于样品的外单层,通常不是定量的。

EAG的SIMS

EAG是SIMS分析的行业标准,提供最佳的检测灵敏度以及精确的浓度和层结构识别。 没有其他分析实验室能够与EAG在SIMS领域的研究和开发的深度和广度相匹配。 我们拥有全球最多的SIMS仪器(超过40 SIMS仪器),高素质的科学家,以及世界上最大的超过五千种离子注入和批量掺杂标准的参考材料库,用于精确的SIMS量化。 EAG三十多年来一直在做SIMS; 比任何其他商业实验室更长。

来自EAG实验室的SIMS服务图标

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS) Services

TECHNIQUE NOTE

Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS) is an analytical technique that detects very low concentrations of dopants and impurities. It can provide elemental depth profiles over a depth range from a few nanometers to tens of microns. SIMS works by sputtering the sample surface with a focused beam of primary ions. Secondary ions formed during the sputtering are extracted and analyzed using a mass spectrometer. These secondary ions can range from matrix levels down to parts-per-billion (ppba) levels.

TYPICAL DATA

SIMS services, typical data from EAG Laboratories
Profiles of B, P and As implant standards in Si. These standards are calibrated with NIST SRM. SIMS profiles provide accuracy doping concentrations vs. depth, with excellent detection sensitivity and dynamic range.

SIMS services, data from EAG Laboratories
Compound (III-V) semiconductor device characterization, complete with composition and dopant/impurity concentration quantification. The profile is optimized for C and O impurity detection and for good depth resolution.

PRINCIPLES

During a SIMS analysis, the samples are sputtered by a focused energetic primary ion beam (100 eV – 15 keV), either oxygen (O2+) or cesium (Cs+). A fraction of sputtered materials are ionized during the sputtering process. These secondary ions are extracted from the surface, mass analyzed based on unique mass-to-charge ratio of individual elements, and collected as secondary ion intensities. Since each element (and isotope) in the periodic table has a unique mass-to-charge ratio, this technique can detect every element in the periodic table. The secondary ion intensities can be converted into concentrations based on analysis of reference standards. By continually monitoring the ions, one can determine the concentration as a function of depth into the sample with minimum distortion to the true in-depth distribution and with very high sensitivity (ppma to ppba).

COMMON APPLICATIONS

The extremely high sensitivity and ability to depth profile make SIMS ideally suited to characterizing semiconductors and other thin film materials. Selected applications include the following:

  • Dopant and impurity depth profiling
  • Composition and impurity measurements of thin films (SiGe, III-V, and II-VI)
  • Ultra-high depth resolution profiling of shallow implants and ultra-thin films (ULE implants and gate oxides)
  • Bulk analysis, including B, C, O, and N in Si
  • High-precision matching of process tools (ion implanters)
  • Contaminant profiles in thin films (metals, dieletric)
  • Thin film layer structures
  • Interface contaminant profiles

STRENGTHS

  • Excellent detection sensitivity for dopants and impurities, with ppma or lower detection sensitivity for most elements
  • Depth profiles with excellent detection limits and depth resolution
  • Small-area analysis (10 µm or larger)
  • Detection of all elements and isotopes, including H
  • Excellent dynamic range (up to 7 orders of magnitude)
  • Major element composition possible, in some applications

LIMITATIONS

  • Standards required for accurate quantification
  • Element specific (not a survey technique)
  • No chemical bonding information
  • Destructive

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

Other surface analytical techniques that can determine compositional depth profiles include X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) and Auger electron spectroscopy. Both have poor detection sensitivity (~0.1%) compared with SIMS. Glow discharge mass spectrometry (GDMS) has good sensitivity but it is primarily a bulk technique. Time-of-flight SIMS operates on the same basic principles as SIMS, but experiments are typically limited to the outer monolayers of a sample and are generally not quantitative.

SIMS AT EAG

EAG is the industry standard for SIMS analysis, offering the best detection sensitivity along with accurate concentration and layer structure identification. No other analytical laboratory can match EAG’s depth and breadth of experience and dedication to research and development in the SIMS field. We have the largest number of SIMS instruments worldwide (more than 40 SIMS instruments), highly qualified scientists, and the world’s largest reference material library of over five-thousand ion-implanted and bulk-doped standards for accurate SIMS quantification. EAG has been doing SIMS for over thirty years; longer than any other commercial laboratory.

SIMS services icon from EAG Laboratories

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.