玻璃缺陷的化学分析

扫描电子显微镜

各种玻璃缺陷(结,绳,石头)和耐火材料的化学成分可以通过扫描电子显微镜(SEM)结合能量色散X射线光谱仪(EDX或EDS)确定。 SEM是一种成像技术,利用高能电子束照射时从表面发射电子。 图像中的信息基于地形或构图。 由于电子与样品相互作用而发出的X射线提供了有关局部化学成分的定量信息。
化学成分以及光学和显微镜观察结果可以很好地说明相应玻璃缺陷的根本原因。

(μ-)X射线荧光

(μ-)X射线荧光是一种确定固体材料元素组成的成熟分析技术。 它的速度,可靠性和准确性使其对​​于工艺开发/控制和工艺优化以及玻璃中嵌入的异物的化学分析极为有用。 X射线束对玻璃缺陷的照射将导致发射元素特定的次级X射线。 可以通过将玻璃缺陷的光谱与周围的玻璃基质进行比较来验证包埋材料的成分。 基于此信息,可以确定起点。

表面玻璃缺陷的XRF光谱与玻璃基质的光谱相比(μ-XRF)

激光烧蚀-电感耦合等离子体质谱法

有时,缺陷可能是由于低浓度水平的杂质(ng g-1或μgg-1)引起的。 在那种情况下,激光烧蚀-电感耦合等离子体质谱法(LA-ICP-MS)适用于确定组成(从主要成分到痕量元素)以及玻璃缺陷的来源。 通过使用紫外激光,可以对少量材料进行采样。 随后通过ICP-MS分析组成。 该技术的主要优点是,在玻璃表面上不必存在夹杂物。 激光可以钻入玻璃,同时确定深度或横向成分。 不需要或有限的样品制备,如果必须分析少量夹杂物,这是一个优势。

俄歇电子能谱

表面颗粒,缺陷和变色会影响外观。 针孔可能会影响银层的腐蚀。 俄歇电子能谱(AES)是一种表面分析技术,其采样深度较浅(大约5 nm),可用于检查亚微米特征。 它提供定量的元素和化学状态信息,可用于检查小颗粒,沾污区域和腐蚀部位。

俄歇可以确定:

  • 颗粒组成
  • 变色组合物
  • 缺陷位置和残留物
  • 腐蚀现场产品
俄歇光谱:识别污染物

残留气体分析(RGA),质谱–夹杂物的气体成分(气泡)

在玻璃产品的生产过程中,会产生少量的气体夹杂物。 尽管有些人将其视为一种技术,但是从装饰性的角度来看,这些小的气体夹杂物是非常不希望的,甚至会阻止产品符合其规格。 较小的气体夹杂物的组成可以使用质谱仪(MS)进行分析。 结果可以帮助跟踪和解决制造过程中的问题根源。 MS是一种成熟的分析技术,用于确定气体成分和压力。 它的速度,可靠性和准确性使其对​​于过程开发,控制和过程优化以及根本原因分析非常有用。 可以对直径低至80-100 µm的气体夹杂物进行可靠的测量。

有色玻璃中的气泡

气体夹杂物分析

首先,确定并检查玻璃中的气泡。 随后,切出包含气泡的部分。 样品的制备方式应使在破碎过程中捕获的气体膨胀进入质谱仪的测量室。 气体被离子化,并用质谱仪测量其组成。 利用从标定气体获得的因子进行计算,可以揭示气体夹杂物中各个成分的浓度和分压。

要测量的典型气体为:H2,He,CO2,N2,SO2,COS,CO,H2S,O2,Ar,Ne,Xe和H2O。 根据要求,可根据炉子条件添加其他类型的气体。

可能确定的来源:

  • 电解
  • 熔炼
  • (快速)熔化/提炼
  • 耐火材料的相互作用
  • 污染检测

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Chemical analysis of glass defects

Scanning Electron Microscopy

The chemical composition of all kinds of glass defects (knots, cords, stones) and refractory material can be determined by Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) combined with Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDX, or EDS). SEM is an imaging technique, making use of emission of electrons from a surface when irradiated by a high energetic electron beam. The information in the images is based on either topography or composition. The X-rays that are emitted as a result of the electron interaction with the sample provide quantitative information on the local chemical composition.
The chemical composition together with the optical and microscopic observations, could give a good impression of the root cause of the corresponding glass defect.

(µ-) X-ray fluorescence

(µ-) X-ray fluorescence is a well-established analytical technique for the determination of the elemental composition of solid materials. Its speed, reliability and accuracy make it extremely useful for process development/control and process optimization and therewith for the chemical analysis of foreign particles embedded in glass. Irradiation of a glass defect by an X-ray beam will result in the emission of element specific secondary X-rays. The composition of the embedded material can be verified by comparison of the spectrum of the glass defect with the surrounding glass matrix. Based on this information the origin can be determined.

XRF spectrum of a surface glass defect in comparison to the spectrum of the glass matrix (μ-XRF)

Laser Ablation-Inductively Coupled Plasma-Mass Spectrometry

Sometimes defects can be due to impurities present at low concentration levels (ng g-1 or μg g-1). In that case Laser Ablation-Inductively Coupled Plasma-Mass Spectrometry (LA-ICP-MS) is suitable to determine the composition (from main components to trace elements) and therewith the origin of the glass defect. By using an UV-laser, a small amount of material is sampled. The composition is subsequently analyzed by means of ICP-MS. A major advantage of the technique is that the inclusion does not have to be present at the surface of the glass. The laser can drill in the glass while determining the composition in depth or lateral. No or limited sample preparation is required, which is an advantage in case small inclusions must be analyzed.

Auger Electron Spectroscopy

Surface particles, defects and discolorations can affect appearance. Pinholes may affect corrosion of silver layers. Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) is a surface analysis technique with shallow sampling depth (approximately 5 nm), which can be used to examine sub-micron features. It provides quantitative elemental and chemical state information and can be applied to examine small particles, stained areas and corrosion sites.

Auger can determine:

  • Particle composition
  • Discoloration composition
  • Defect locations and residues
  • Corrosion site products
Auger spectra: identify contaminants

Residual gas analysis (RGA), mass Spectrometry – gas composition of inclusions (bubble)

In the production process of glass products, small gas inclusions can be created. Although some see it as art, these small gas inclusions can be highly undesirable from a cosmetic point of view or even prevent the product to meet its specifications. The composition of small gas inclusions can be analyzed using a mass spectrometer (MS). The results can help to trace and solve problem sources in the manufacturing process. MS is a well-established analytical technique used for the determination of gas compositions and pressure. Its speed, reliability and accuracy make it very useful for process development, control and process optimization and root cause analysis. Reliable measurements can be performed on gas inclusions with a diameter down to 80-100 µm.

Gas bubbles in colored glass

Analysis of gas inclusions

First, the bubbles in the glass are located and inspected. Subsequently, the part containing the bubble is cut out. The samples are prepared in such a way that during the breaking procedure the captured gas is expanded into the mass spectrometer measurement chamber. The gas is ionized, and its composition is measured with the mass spectrometer. Calculation with factors obtained from calibration gasses, reveal both concentration and partial pressures of individual components in the gas inclusion.

Typical gasses to be measured are:  H2, He, CO2, N2, SO2, COS, CO, H2S, O2, Ar, Ne, Xe and H2O. On request, other type of gasses can be added depending on the furnace conditions.

Possible source to be identified:

  • Electrolysis
  • Melting / refining
  • (Fast) melting / refining
  • Refractory interaction
  • Contamination

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.