与表面化学变化相关的制药瓶中的玻璃分层

应用笔记

引言

有几个与胃肠外玻璃薄片外观有关的高调报道 制药 的解决方案。1 美国食品和药物管理局近年来列出了大约十几起与玻璃分层或溶液中观察到的未识别颗粒相关的药物召回。 这个问题引发了全行业的努力,以了解这种现象并制定评估玻璃容器耐久性的程序。 由于这些最近的问题,美国药典委员会发布了一章描述筛选和评估玻璃容器耐久性的方法。2 推荐的分析方法包括:二次离子质谱(SIMS),扫描电子显微镜(SEM),电感耦合等离子体质谱(ICP-MS)和光学显微镜。 EAG实验室为药品容器提供完整的分析测试套件。 此外,我们发现X射线光电子能谱(XPS,也称为化学分析电子光谱,ESCA)是检测玻璃表面外部5-10 nm的有用工具。 这些技术中的每一种都提供补充信息 以下是这些不同工具提供的信息的简要摘要。

  • SIMS 是一种定量的微量元素分析技术,通常用于深度剖析模式。 它是能够检测氢扩散到玻璃中的唯一技术之一。
  • XPS / ESCA 是一种定量技术,可测量样品的极端外表面(5-10 nm)的成分。 与SIMS类似,XPS也可用于深度剖面样本。 XPS还可用于检查大于30μm的单个薄片,通过过滤从溶液中回收。
  • SEM 提供玻璃表面的高放大率图像,以寻找与腐蚀或表面降解相关的剥落,点蚀或其他异常。 EDS(能量分散X射线光谱仪)与SEM的结合允许对具有百分比水平检测限的单个薄片进行半定量元素分析。
  • 差分干涉对比(DIC)模式下的光学显微镜可在玻璃上提供增强的对比度,尤其是细微的表面特征。
  • ICP-MS 可以测量药物溶液中元素玻璃成分(Na,B,Si,Al,Ca等)的痕量水平(ppm-ppb)。

可见玻璃鳞片的外观是a的最后一步 腐蚀 根据高温玻璃成型工艺生产的工艺。 我们的目标是了解导致分层的化学变化,以便在发生灾难性故障之前对玻璃进行评估。 我们首先检查一下 表面 玻璃在暴露于任何溶液之前的化学性质。

药物小瓶的玻璃分层

 

表面化学成分的表面化学

图1显示了I型玻璃瓶的表面组成,作为沿瓶长度的位置的函数。 供参考批量 组成 对于每种氧化物,显示为虚线。 B2O3 和娜2O在容器的末端被耗尽并沿着侧壁富集。 这种成分变化的原因可能是由于Na和B物种在形成过程中经历最高温度的区域(底部和肩部)的挥发以及未暴露于这种极端温度的区域的冷凝。 从后跟获得10 mm的深度剖面图(图2)显示B和Na富集层将~80 nm延伸到玻璃中。

图1沿着形成的小瓶的长度测量的表面(顶部5 nm)组成。 注意在小瓶底部和肩部附近的B2O3和Na2O耗尽,其中高的成形温度导致挥发。 水平虚线表示块状玻璃组合物。

图1 沿着形成的小瓶的长度测量的表面(顶部5 nm)组成。 注意B2O3 和娜2在小瓶的底部和肩部附近耗尽,其中高的成形温度导致挥发。 水平虚线表示块状玻璃组合物。

图2形成的玻璃小瓶的深度剖面图,显示B2O3和Na2O富集层。

图2 显示B的成形玻璃小瓶的深度剖面2O3 和娜2O丰富的层。

暴露于溶液的样品表面化学

玻璃腐蚀机理取决于溶液的pH。 来自同一批材料的小瓶暴露于低(酸性)和高(碱性)pH中。 图3a和3b显示了暴露于低pH溶液中不同时间的小瓶的深度分布。 初始形成后,厚度为80 nm的富含B和Na的层(图2)在暴露于酸性溶液中50天后变为100-18 nm的耗尽层(图3a)。 毫不奇怪,增加曝光时间会导致更厚的耗尽层(图3b)。 与开始时溶液中的水平相比,ICP-MS(未显示)证实了所储存溶液中Na和B的水平升高。
在高pH下,硅酸盐玻璃的腐蚀机理与在低pH下根本不同。 玻璃的Si-O-Si结构会溶解,而不是去除改性物质。 暴露于高pH值的样品瓶表面含有75 nm Al2O3丰富的层。 Al2O3 发现浓度(> 10摩尔%)显着高于整体浓度(图4)。

图3在18天和64天暴露于低pH溶液导致产生B和Na贫化层并形成二氧化硅样表面层。

图3 在18天和64天暴露于低pH溶液导致产生贫B和Na的层并形成二氧化硅样表面层。

图2形成的玻璃小瓶的深度剖面图,显示B2O3和Na2O富集层。

图4 暴露于高pH溶液的小瓶的深度分布

概要

总之,在I型玻璃小瓶的形成和使用中存在许多可导致显着化学梯度的过程。 这些梯度可能导致机械或其他应力,最终导致在某些情况下产生微观薄片。 一套分析工具可用于跟踪表面化学,溶液化学和缺陷的变化。 这些包括:SIMS,XPS,SEM,光学显微镜和ICP-MS,它们都可以提供有关储存溶液对玻璃存储介质的影响的有价值信息。


1 RG Iacocca,Pharma Tech(2011)s6-9

2 USP“玻璃容器内表面耐久性的评估”

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Glass Delamination in Pharmaceutical Vials Related to Surface Chemical Changes

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

There have been several high profile reports related to the appearance of glass lamellae in parenteral pharmaceutical solutions.1 The US Food and Drug Administration lists roughly a dozen drug recalls in recent years associated with glass delamination or unidentified particulates observed in solution. This problem has sparked an industry-wide effort to understand this phenomenon and develop procedures to assess the durability of glass containers. As a result of these recent problems the US Pharmacopeial Convention has issued a chapter describing methods to screen and evaluate the durability of glass containers.2 Recommended analytical methods include: Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS), Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM), Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry (ICP-MS) and Optical Microscopy. EAG Laboratories offers this complete suite of analytical testing for pharmaceutical containers. Additionally, we have found X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS, also known as Electron Spectroscopy for Chemical Analysis, ESCA) to be a valuable tool for examining the outer 5-10 nm of glass surfaces. Each of these techniques provides complementary information. Below is a brief summary of the information available from these different tools.

  • SIMS is a quantitative, trace elemental analysis technique generally used in a depth profiling mode. It is one of the only techniques capable of detecting hydrogen diffusion into glass.
  • XPS/ESCA is a quantitative technique that measures the composition of the extreme outer surface (5-10 nm) of a sample. Similarly to SIMS, XPS can also be used to depth profile samples. XPS can also be used to examine individual flakes larger than 30 µm recovered from solutions by filtration.
  • SEM provides high magnification images of glass surfaces to look for flaking, pitting or other anomalies associated with corrosion or surface degradation. The incorporation of EDS (Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy) with SEM permits semi-quantitative elemental analysis of individual flakes with percent level detection limits.
  • Optical Microscopy in differential interference contrast (DIC) mode provides enhanced contrast on glass, particularly of subtle surface features.
  • ICP-MS can measure trace levels (ppm-ppb) of elemental glass constituents (Na, B, Si, Al, Ca, etc.) in pharmaceutical solutions.

The appearance of visible glass flakes is the final step in a corrosion process that is rooted in the high temperature glass forming process. Our goal is to understand the chemical changes that lead to delamination so that glasses can be evaluated prior to a catastrophic failure. We begin by examining the surface chemistry of the glass before it has been exposed to any solution.

glass delamination of pharmaceteutical vials

 

SURFACE CHEMISTRY OF AS-FORMED CONTAINERS

Figure 1 shows the surface composition of a Type I glass vial as a function of position along the vial length. For reference the bulk composition for each oxide is shown as a dotted line. The B2O3 and Na2O are depleted at the ends of the container and enriched along the sidewall. The cause of this compositional variation is likely due to volatization of Na and B species from the areas experiencing the highest temperatures during forming (bottom and shoulder) and condensation at areas not exposed to such temperature extremes. A depth profile acquired 10 mm from the heel (Figure 2) shows the B and Na enriched layer extends ~80 nm into the glass.

Figure 1 Measured surface (top 5 nm) composition along the length of an as formed vial. Note the B2O3 and Na2O depletion near the bottom and shoulder of the vial where high forming temperatures lead to volatilization. Horizontal dotted lines represent bulk glass composition.

Figure 1 Measured surface (top 5 nm) composition along the length of an as formed vial. Note the B2O3 and Na2O depletion near the bottom and shoulder of the vial where high forming temperatures lead to volatilization. Horizontal dotted lines represent bulk glass composition.

Figure 2 Depth profile of an as formed glass vial showing B2O3 and Na2O enriched layers.

Figure 2 Depth profile of an as formed glass vial showing B2O3 and Na2O enriched layers.

SURFACE CHEMISTRY OF VIALS EXPOSED TO SOLUTIONS

Glass corrosion mechanisms are different depending on the pH of the solution. Vials from the same lot of material were exposed to both low (acidic) and high (alkaline) pHs. Figures 3a and 3b show depth profiles of vials exposed to a low pH solution for varying times. An 80 nm thick B and Na enriched layer, after initial forming, (Figure 2) becomes a 50-100 nm depleted layer after exposure to an acidic solution for 18 days (Figure 3a). Not surprisingly, increasing time of exposure leads to a thicker depletion layer (Figure 3b). ICP-MS (not shown) confirmed elevated levels of Na and B in the stored solution, compared to levels in the solution at the start. At high pH, the mechanism of corrosion in silicate glasses is fundamentally different than at low pH. Rather than removal of modifying species, the Si-O-Si structure of the glass dissolves. The surface of a vial exposed to high pH contains a 75 nm Al2O3–rich layer. The Al2O3 concentration (>10 mole%) was found to be significantly higher than in the bulk (Figure 4).

Figure 3 Exposure to low pH solution for 18 days and 64 days leads to the creation of layer depleted in B and Na and the formation of a silica-like surface layer.

Figure 3 Exposure to low pH solution for 18 days and 64 days leads to the creation of layer depleted in B and Na and the formation of a silica-like surface layer.

Figure 2 Depth profile of an as formed glass vial showing B2O3 and Na2O enriched layers.

Figure 4 Depth profile of a vial exposed to a high pH solution

SUMMARY

In conclusion, there are a number of processes in both the forming and use of Type I glass vials that can result in significant chemical gradients. These gradients may lead to mechanical or other stresses that ultimately result in the production of microscopic flakes under certain circumstances. A suite of analytical tools can be used to track changes in the surface chemistry, solution chemistry and defects. These include: SIMS, XPS, SEM, optical microscopy and ICP-MS, which can all provide valuable information regarding the effect of a stored solution on the glass storage medium.


1 RG Iacocca, Pharma Tech (2011) s6-9

2 USP “Evaluation of the Inner Surface Durability of Glass Containers”

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.