生物医学形态学

EAG实验室通过成像分析研究生物医学形态学和微观结构。 在最简单的形式中,成像分析使用显微镜(光学或电子)观察表面。 提供的信息受所使用仪器的功能限制。 这种分析中使用的主要分析技术是 扫描电子显微镜(SEM) 和 透射电子显微镜(TEM).

扫描电子显微镜(SEM)提供样品表面和近表面的高分辨率和长景深图像。 SEM是最广泛使用的分析工具之一,因为它可以快速提供非常详细的图像。 SEM与辅助能量色散X射线光谱(EDS)探测器相结合,还提供几乎整个周期表的元素识别。

在光学显微镜无法提供足够的图像分辨率或足够高的放大倍数的情况下,EAG实验室使用SEM分析。 应用包括故障分析,尺寸分析,过程表征,逆向工程和颗粒识别。 EAG的专业知识和经验范围对于医疗设备和诊断公司而言是无价的。 人与人之间的服务可确保对结果及其含义进行良好的沟通。 分析期间经常有客户在场,从而可以立即共享数据,影像和信息。

透射电子显微镜(TEM)和扫描透射电子显微镜(STEM)是使用电子束成像样品的密切相关技术。 入射在超薄样品上的高能电子允许图像分辨率大约为1-2Å。 与SEM相比,TEM和STEM具有更好的空间分辨率,并且能够进行额外的分析测量,但需要更多的样品制备。

虽然比许多其他常用分析工具更耗时,但TEM和STEM分析的丰富信息令人印象深刻。 不仅可以获得出色的图像分辨率,还可以表征晶体相位,晶体取向(通过衍射模式实验),产生元素图(使用EDS或EELS),并获得突出元素对比度(暗场模式)的图像。 这些都可以从可以精确定位的nm大小的区域完成。 STEM和TEM是薄膜和IC样品的最终失效分析工具。

可以使用以下方法研究元素,无机或分子物种的横向分布(即位置):

  • 电子束技术:(SEM,能量色散X射线光谱和俄歇电子能谱)
  • 离子束技术:(飞行时间二次离子质谱和聚焦离子束)

这些方法提供了显示不同感兴趣物种的相对位置的地图或图像,提供了有关特征,缺陷,颗粒等的有用信息。

其他技术也可用于获取图像:

请致电800-366-3867与EAG的生物医学分析专家联系,或填写“询问专家”表格与我们的一位科学家就您所面临的挑战进行交谈。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Biomedical Morphology

EAG Laboratories investigates biomedical morphology and microstructures through imaging analysis. In its simplest form, imaging analysis is looking at a surface using microscopy (either optical or electron). The information provided is limited by the capabilities of the instrumentation used. The primary analytical technique employed in this type of analysis is Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) and Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM).

Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) provides high-resolution and long-depth-of-field images of the sample surface and near-surface. SEM is one of the most widely used analytical tools due to the extremely detailed images it can quickly provide. Coupled to an auxiliary Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDS) detector, SEM also offers elemental identification of nearly the entire periodic table.

EAG Laboratories uses SEM analysis in cases where optical microscopy cannot provide sufficient image resolution or high enough magnification. Applications include failure analysis, dimensional analysis, process characterization, reverse engineering, and particle identification. EAG’s expertise and range of experience is invaluable to the medical device and diagnostic companies. Person-to-person service ensures good communication of the results and their implications. Customers are often present during the analysis, enabling an immediate sharing of data, imaging and information.

Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM) and Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (STEM) are closely related techniques that use an electron beam to image a sample. High energy electrons, incident on ultra-thin samples allow for image resolutions that are on the order of 1-2Å. Compared to SEM, TEM and STEM have better spatial resolution and are capable of additional analytical measurements, but require significantly more sample preparation.

Although more time consuming than many other common analytical tools, the wealth of information TEM and STEM analyses is impressive. Not only can outstanding image resolution be obtained, it is also possible to characterize crystallographic phase, crystallographic orientation (by diffraction mode experiments), produce elemental maps (using EDS or EELS), and obtain images that highlight elemental contrast (dark field mode). These can all be done from nm sized areas that can be precisely located. STEM and TEM are the ultimate failure analysis tools for thin film and IC samples.

The lateral distribution (i.e. location) of elemental, inorganic or molecular species can be investigated using:

  • Electron beam techniques: (SEM, Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy and Auger Electron Spectroscopy)
  • Ion beam techniques: (Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry and Focused Ion Beam)

These methods provide maps or images that show the relative positions of different species of interest, giving useful information regarding features, defects, particles, etc..

Other techniques can also be used to obtain images:

Contact EAG’s biomedical analysis experts at 800-366-3867 or complete the ASK AN EXPERT form to speak with one of our scientists about your challenges.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.